Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: DEM that works with DEMEX?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Alexandria, Va, USA.
    Posts
    520

    Default DEM that works with DEMEX?

    Is there a place to download DEM (preferably free) that works with DEMEX? I used to use Geocomm and, before that, Mapmart. Now I get a message that the geocomm domain name is for sale.

    I downloaded some 30m DEM from the USGS site but DEMEX doesn't recognize it. I'm using DEMEX unregistered mode.

    Thanks for any help you can give.
    Steve Dunham
    Alexandria, VA
    www.stevedunham.50megs.com

  2. #2

    Default

    Ive had luck with https://www.mrlc.gov/viewer/
    Todd
    Iowa Chicago and Eastern Mason City Sub

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brockville, ON, CA
    Posts
    2,455

    Default

    Where is it you are looking for Steve just in case I already have the DEMs here.

    Paul :-)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    4,729

    Default

    If you are desperate, try the Viewfinder site http://viewfinderpanoramas.org/dem3.html most of the US stuff is 90m res but it works quite well in MSTS RE/Goku RE and for many areas you might not notice too much difference.
    Vern.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Alexandria, Va, USA.
    Posts
    520

    Default

    Todd, MRLC said there were no categories available for the area I selected (Fredericksburg to Richmond, Virginia). Vern, I downloaded the data for that area from the Viewfinder Panoramas site and, after I unzipped it, it appeared to load OK into Demex. Thank you all for your help. I'm extending my 2005 RF&P route, which didn't go south of Fredericksburg. I relaid virtually all the track (which was pretty rough in places), touched up the scenery, and am adding custom structures (such as reasonable facsimiles of Metro and VRE stations). Now I'm ready to build southward. The railroad is partly downstream of the fall line, and in those places the scenery is pretty flat. In other areas there are some hills, but the 90m data should be adequate. The hills are mostly forested and generally are not dramatic scenery. In most places all you see from the train is trees. Thanks again, all of you.
    Steve Dunham
    Alexandria, VA
    www.stevedunham.50megs.com

  6. #6

    Default

    After noting the change, I emailed them, they directed me to the National Map.
    Todd
    Iowa Chicago and Eastern Mason City Sub

  7. #7

    Default

    You should be able to get DEM's in IMG format from National Map, and convert to GeoTiff using VTBuilder. Search that here and you'll find the steps...

    You can also try to follow along from the screenshots here: https://www.flickr.com/photos/562573...7695897974625/

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville,, FL, USA.
    Posts
    3,650

    Default

    Colleagues,

    That is the method I use. I get DEMs from the National Map, in the highest resolution available and
    use VtBuilder to convert them to the GeoTiff format required for DEMEX. Works like a charm and in
    some cases I was able to combine DEMS while in VtBuilder and thus get better seamless results.
    This latter process will depend on how much memory you have. I have 8G.

    J.H. Sullivan
    (landnrailroader)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Cumming Ga
    Posts
    2,517

    Default

    I appreciate the info...
    But as usual... I never seem to get past step 1.

    http://www.railsimstuff.com
    3D Canvas/Crafter and Blender User
    formerly The Keystone Works (All Permissions Granted)
    In IRC at freenode #msts

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •