Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
Results 41 to 50 of 55

Thread: New Microsoft Flight Simulator technology for a new train sim?

  1. #41
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,318

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by cn bala View Post
    That's Run-8 Simulator v2 and I already have those in my desktop with that route.
    Yes...he is playing Run 8 but he is talking about MSTS - a somewhat confusing presentation. Why talk about oranges whilst standing in front of a barrow of apples?

    And what's with the mini-vids of the presenter and the controller? Who cares?
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  2. #42
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    S.W.WALES
    Posts
    2,012

    Default

    Probably because he meant to buy oranges. But went to the wrong barrow, Bruce.

    Mike.
    The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt

  3. #43
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Wareham, Dorset, U.K.
    Posts
    2,554

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by seagoon View Post
    Yes...he is playing Run 8 but he is talking about MSTS - a somewhat confusing presentation. Why talk about oranges whilst standing in front of a barrow of apples?

    And what's with the mini-vids of the presenter and the controller? Who cares?
    I gave up after 5 minutes because he'd failed to construct or communicate one intelligent sentence. Around about the time he said (something along the lines of) "It's just my opinion" I found myself wondering why I'd be interested in the opinion of someone who was so distracted by a slow moving train sim that he couldn't put forward an idea in an articulate sentence ....but HEY! If anyone thought he was good I gather he does loads of these riveting posts.
    Geoff
    Dorset - near The Swanage Railway.
    UK

  4. #44
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    S.W.WALES
    Posts
    2,012

    Default

    Who are we talking about here "mini vids" ?

    Mike.
    The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt

  5. #45
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,318

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by haverfordwest View Post
    Who are we talking about here "mini vids" ?

    Mike.
    The bloke in the YT video linked by lapioware, Mike (link below)......he pontificates about MSTS 2 as he is playing Run 8.
    A total nincompoop, IMO.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SkR8CKWkmko
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    1,532

    Default

    Let's hope he doesn't pontificate about this new MSTS Flight Simulator, whilst playing X-Plane.........

    Cheerz. Steve.
    i5 4690 3.5 GHz Quad Core CPU, Gigabyte Z97-HD3, 16GB RAM, nVidia GTX1060 6GB, WIN 7 PRO 64-bit.

  7. #47
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    S.W.WALES
    Posts
    2,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by seagoon View Post
    The bloke in the YT video linked by lapioware, Mike (link below)......he pontificates about MSTS 2 as he is playing Run 8.
    A total nincompoop, IMO.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SkR8CKWkmko
    Thank you Bruce, so many different references in this thread. I lost the plot a little bit.

    Mike.
    The trouble with the world is that the stupid are cocksure and the intelligent are full of doubt

  8. #48
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    4,811

    Default

    https://youtu.be/Z2HwLeJSAGc

    This clip popped up on another forum.

    Interesting to see detailed rail yards in the towns, so who knows it could be a platform for a possible future expansion back into trains.

    At the same time, wondering what sort of hardware will be needed to run this at anything like the detail being shown!
    Vern.

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Wareham, Dorset, U.K.
    Posts
    2,554

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NorthernWarrior View Post
    https://youtu.be/Z2HwLeJSAGc

    This clip popped up on another forum.

    Interesting to see detailed rail yards in the towns, so who knows it could be a platform for a possible future expansion back into trains.

    At the same time, wondering what sort of hardware will be needed to run this at anything like the detail being shown!
    Now we know how the Donkey feels chasing a carrot?
    Geoff
    Dorset - near The Swanage Railway.
    UK

  10. #50
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,318

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NorthernWarrior View Post
    ..At the same time, wondering what sort of hardware will be needed to run this at anything like the detail being shown!
    Well, that's exactly why I'll opt for the XBox One package when it's released.

    Our wide-screen TV is now approaching its twelfth birthday and I intended to replace it with a 65" 4K UHD device next year so may as well add the XBox to the deal.
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •