Thread: I'm a Beginner, I Want to create a C30-7S7 Loco. IDEAS PLEASE!

Question I'm a Beginner, I Want to create a C30-7S7 Loco. IDEAS PLEASE!

Hello All! well, i'm new on the world of editing, i'm very excited to learn some about creating and editing stuff.
    My dream of all my life was recreate my trains with the old General Electric C30-7Super 7 Rebuild or NEW that worked on TFM, KCSM and Ferromex.
    There are some details that looks similar to the C40-8 but.. i don´t believe that it can be modified. so my idea is start from 0.
    Please give me advices about which programs should i use or which program is the best for creating locomotives/cars.
    Here's an example
    TFM 2317.jpg

i would appreciate all your comments! thank you

What a great attitude.

The 'best' program is the one that you find best to use.

A comparison of most of the 3D modelling programs that you can use to make models for MSTS/OR can be found here:

https://msts.steam4me.net/tutorials/which3d.html

However, I personally would suggest learning Blender 2.8 for the 3D modelling and GIMP for making the plans and texture files. The reason is, both these programs are free and there are many tutorials on youtube that help complete beginners up to expert.

As an example, have a look at the first 5 tutorials from CG Cookie.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-O52Js1c5D4

These tutorials will show you how the Blender 2.8 interface works and will get you started with the tools and techniques that you can use to build your model.

I hope this helps you get started and allows you to create the things that you want.

If you have any questions or need help just ask.

Cheers,

Marek.

In addition to the above post, I would suggest looking at other peoples models using Shape File Viewer. If you don't already have this program, download it from the file library here (shapefileviewer25.zip ).