Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: New Shape Viewer DDS Textures

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Oshawa ON
    Posts
    1,537

    Default New Shape Viewer DDS Textures

    Hello all, I just downloaded the New Shape Viewer program from here, but when I try to view DDS Textured files all I get is an "ERROR #9 Out of Range". It works fine for the regular shapes with ACE Textures.

    I followed the directions but no happiness to be able to view the Shapes with DDS textures that I have.

    Any suggestions? Desktop with Win10 Home, and no problems with the install of Shape Viewer using the regular files with the update(?) included.

  2. #2

    Default

    Works fine for me. How does the TSRE DDS viewer work with the DDS that causes SV to error?
    Charles

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Oshawa ON
    Posts
    1,537

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crstagg View Post
    Works fine for me. How does the TSRE DDS viewer work with the DDS that causes SV to error?
    I have no problem with TSRE5 with viewing DDS files, never have since that update way back when.

    It is just with the Shape Viewer (stand-alone) that I am having this issue with the DDS files.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,353

    Default

    When the SView22 installer runs, it installs the old version of trainlib.ocx that is 276kb in size. Apparently this installer is the exact same old version of shape viewer 2.2.237 that installs the old ocx file. This allows you to display shapes that come with ace or that have dual ace/dds textures, but dds onlys are giving the error 9.

    Evidently you still need to copy the standalone trainlib.ocx that came in the download folder that is 288kb and overwrite the old one that the installer just placed in your shape viewer destination folder.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    1,967

    Default

    Hi Chaps,
    If you've put the new trainlib.ocx into the ShapeViewer folder, make sure that the old trainlib.ocx file is not still present in C:\Windows\SysWOW64 (64-bit) and/or C:\Windows\System32 (32-bit). This is because the Windows folder version is read in preference to that in the ShapeViewer folder.

    Cheers,
    Ged

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    1,744

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slipperman View Post
    Hi Chaps,
    If you've put the new trainlib.ocx into the ShapeViewer folder, make sure that the old trainlib.ocx file is not still present in C:\Windows\SysWOW64 (64-bit) and/or C:\Windows\System32 (32-bit). This is because the Windows folder version is read in preference to that in the ShapeViewer folder.

    Cheers,
    Ged
    Works fine here after copying and pasting new "trainlib.ocx" into ShapeViewer
    All the more reason to install any train sim utility program into a root folder, something like this:
    bandicam 2019-11-26 15-58-17-325.jpg
    Cheers, R. Steele [Gerry] It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Lexington, Ky
    Posts
    2,528

    Default

    Gerry's right..........

    Works fine here after copying and pasting new "trainlib.ocx" into ShapeViewer

    Works like a charm!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    Rick

    http:\\mononrr.com

    MONON-2


  8. #8

    Default

    Works Great! Thank you for your work! Much appreciated!
    CG

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New York, USA.
    Posts
    1,920

    Default

    Hi Folks,

    Glad it seems to work for most...

    As a modeler - it's sooo much better to just export straight from my paint program to DDS - vs dealing with "TGA Tool" or "Aceit"... Now I can open my work quickly and easily for review in Shape Viewer - a huge time saver...

    Yeah - that Paul guy is really just too much - the stuff he made for the general Train Sim community is just a small fraction of his work - he's made so many scripts for 3DC to specifically build trains - I don't think I'd be modeling without them...

    Just for the record - Paul left Train Sims years ago - so dusting off his old code for the benefit of this community really speaks volumes on the man's character...

    If anyone deserves an achievement medal around here - it's certainly Paul...

    Many thanks as well...

    Regards,
    Scott

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Oshawa ON
    Posts
    1,537

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slipperman View Post
    Hi Chaps,
    If you've put the new trainlib.ocx into the ShapeViewer folder, make sure that the old trainlib.ocx file is not still present in C:\Windows\SysWOW64 (64-bit) and/or C:\Windows\System32 (32-bit). This is because the Windows folder version is read in preference to that in the ShapeViewer folder.

    Cheers,
    Ged
    Thank you for that I will see if that works, the one ( trainlib.ocx ) already in that location was smaller. I will try it later today and hopefully it works.

    BTW, my installation is "Stand-Alone" in separate area and works fine with the ACE files.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •