Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: MSTS Won't Install Under Windows 10

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2004
    Location
    South Bend, Indiana, USA.
    Posts
    6

    Default MSTS Won't Install Under Windows 10

    I have two copies of MSTS, and both will not install under Windows 10. The first disk installs fine, but after changing disks, it simply hangs up at 27 percent. Any ideas?

  2. #2

    Default

    Yes there is help.

    Go here for install instructions.
    Use this ====> https://msts.steam4me.net/tutorials/...g_msts_w7.html

    Allowing MSTS to install to the default location will result in problems.

    regards,
    ............Vince ..............
    ...... Author NECv4 .......
    .... LIRR BUILD PHOTOS ....
    .............LIRR VIDEO.............
    ...... Eschew Obsfucation ......

    On the The Statue of Liberty in New York Harbor there is a Tablet. On it is written:
    "Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
    the wretched refuse of your teeming shore, send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me,
    I lift my lamp beside the golden door!"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    4,983

    Default

    This sounds more like the Securom copy protection so no end of not installing to Program files will help overcome that, as Windows 10 will refuse to read the CD. The only solution is to have the installation files already on a USB stick or hard drive which overcomes the issue. And the only way to do that is to copy them via a computer that doesn't have Windows 10 installed on it.

    Time to upgrade to TS2020 (Railworks) or Trainz 2019!
    Vern.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Musterhausen
    Posts
    99

    Default

    Actually, you could just try to copy all of the files from both CDs into a temporary folder and run the setup from there.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    128

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by MCranmer View Post
    I have two copies of MSTS, and both will not install under Windows 10. The first disk installs fine, but after changing disks, it simply hangs up at 27 percent. Any ideas?
    Hi Mel, copy the two disks on a Folder of your Rig and starts the Install-Exe from this place. It works fine and faster.

    look the answer of mmax45581
    I hope, the Community can understand my posts.

    Michael

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    4,983

    Default

    Assuming that Securom permits copying of the CDs, which is why I said above - needs to be done on a non Windows 10 machine.
    Vern.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    128

    Default

    Win10-Machine with CD's of MSTS from 2001.
    I hope, the Community can understand my posts.

    Michael

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    1,990

    Default

    Hi All,
    There is no problem copying the contents of MSTS CDs into a temporary folder under Windows 10 - I have just tested using a fully updated v1903, with the original Microsoft CDs and those from Xplosiv.

    The problem arises when trying to run setup.exe, even when set to "XP Compatibility mode" and "Run as an administrator". In my installation, the following message was displayed :
    Setup was unable to find (or could not read) the language specific setup resource dll, unable to continue. Please reboot and try again.
    Rebooting didn't help and neither did a couple of solutions I found on the 'net!

    To get setup.exe to run successfully, I did the following, although it may not be the only solution :
    1. Convert the contents of the folder into a .iso file using Folder2ISO - the .iso file may be created anywhere.
    2. To run the .iso file, it needs to be 'mounted' and given a drive letter - if Win10 doesn't do that, use WinCDEmu
    3. Open the 'mounted' drive, run Setup.exe "as an administrator" and the normal MSTS installation menu is displayed.

    Caveat : At this point, I did not continue with the installation as I already have a fully functioning MSTS setup and didn't want to corrupt it.

    The required programs are both free :
    Folder2ISO : https://www.trustfm.net/software/uti...Folder2Iso.php
    WinCDEmu : https://wincdemu.sysprogs.org/

    Cheers,
    Ged
    Last edited by slipperman; 12-15-2019 at 05:58 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    322

    Default

    3 Cheers for Microsoft,Just Kidding! Brian

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    4,983

    Default

    I found putting all the install files into the CD1 folder overcame any issues when the installer started looking for the second CD (i.e. copy the contents of CD2 into CD1).

    3 Cheers for Microsoft,Just Kidding! Brian
    Indeed but that said, what reasonable expectation should there be that a programme which had the source code laid down getting on for 20 years ago should still work now? Far newer games have gone the way of the Dodo - original Mass Effect has the Securom issue, Freelancer no longer works, even GTA San Andreas one of the all time classic games has difficulty running.
    Vern.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •