Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: B&O West End Route

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    .
    Posts
    290

    Default B&O West End Route

    I am seeing a lot of vegetation placed on the tracks in this route. Is there an easy way to remedy this?

    Rich K
    See my pix at RailPictures.net
    Visit my web site The Railfan Gallery

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    Petaluma, CA, USA.
    Posts
    33

    Default

    If you are using Open Rails just add this line the to the .trk file and no more on track trees.

    ORTSUserPreferenceForestClearDistance ( 2 )

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville,, FL, USA.
    Posts
    3,737

    Default

    ORTS renders the distance, track to forest objects differently from MSTS. In the MCOA2 route I had
    a spot where the trees were rendering on the track in ORTS, but correctly in MSTS. The recommended
    line fixed the issue, and I intend to add it any of my future routes.

    J. H. Sullivan

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Just south of NYC
    Posts
    1,558

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rich_K View Post
    I am seeing a lot of vegetation placed on the tracks in this route. Is there an easy way to remedy this?
    Can you give the coordinates of where this is occurring so I can fix??
    Chris
    "True rail fans have two favorite railroads. The B&O and one other."

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Poteau, OK, USA.
    Posts
    4,640

    Default

    Chris:

    IF it's the problem that I THINK is being mentioned, it will have to do with the use of forest regions, their boundaries in particular.

    The issue is:

    * MSTS calculates a forest region in their way, and places the trees thusly.

    * OR calculates a forest region differently, and thus the forest region trees (and likely the boundaries) will NOT be in the same identical locations as with MSTS.

    What is likely happening is that you an MSTS-placed forest region that is borders the track closely. (Or may even overlap the track slightly.) It's fine as rendered by MSTS, but too close for OR, thus the tree(s) end up on the track. One possible fix, one sure fix:

    * Possible fix: Use the OR modifier as per above. This will cause OR to shrink its boundaries a tad, thus the offending OR-rendered trees are off the track.

    * Sure fix: Find the region(s) that overlap the track a tad, and pull them back via MSTS Route Editor to where there's more distance between the region's border and the track.

    Either way, very fixable, just some more piddle time.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Germany.
    Posts
    439

    Default

    Hello,
    is there any special position in the trk file (beginning or end) where the additional line should be put?

    Keep on steamin'
    Dietmar

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Lexington, Ky
    Posts
    2,544

    Default

    Easy fix
    download this trk file and folder:
    OpenRails.zip
    open it up and take the folder called OpenRails and put it into the B&O West End route folder
    thats it.

    No route editing needed by the author and no trees on the track.
    Rick

    http:\\mononrr.com

    MONON-2


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Germany.
    Posts
    439

    Default

    Hello,
    thank you for the fix. I've begun exploring the route and haven't met any trees on the track. I've also used it in some other routes by just changing the name of the trk file. May I also post your solution at the German Railroads forum where I'm quite active?

    Keep on steamin'!
    Dietmar

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •