Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: is there a beginner guide to making consists?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    139

    Default is there a beginner guide to making consists?

    i was excited to actually find a nsw route - Harden to The Rock at Steam4me -probably the best representation of Junee one might hope to ever see in a train sim, i got some class 80 locos also and have put all the route and train files in there right spot, but the class 80 doesnt appear in msts or OR when i go to select a train just to explore teh route, so i presume i have to make a consist for this yes?

    i got some wheat hopper cars also to make a consist

    if so, i got TSRE5 from its website, but it is just an exe that opens up and appears only to be a route editor, i dont see anywhere i can edit consists

    what is the easiest way i can make a basic consist - whether just the loco itself or if possible the loco and some freight?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Musterhausen
    Posts
    115

    Default

    After the first start, TSRE5 will have generated some new files in the directory where you started it from. One is the consist_editor.bat which you'll have to execute for the consist editor.
    Basically, all it does is opening TSRE5 with the --conedit option that causes this behavior.
    Once you have selected and loaded your installation profile, it is pretty straightforward to use.
    Greetings

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    139

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mmax45581 View Post
    After the first start, TSRE5 will have generated some new files in the directory where you started it from. One is the consist_editor.bat which you'll have to execute for the consist editor.
    Basically, all it does is opening TSRE5 with the --conedit option that causes this behavior.
    Once you have selected and loaded your installation profile, it is pretty straightforward to use.
    Greetings
    Thank you very much! i have opened it up and made a consist! woohoo my first one, and yes it is easy relatively to do.

    i just have a small issue, how do i actually edit the consist i made? my cab is around the wrong way so i am facing the 2nd engine -
    i cant find any in editor help nor any guide on the editor parent site

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    MP44.2 Worcester, MA
    Posts
    196

    Default

    Just right click on the the engine and select "Flip" on the drop down menu.

    Fred

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia
    Posts
    139

    Default

    Thanks - you mean in teh consist editor do that? i ended up just deleting it all and making a new one

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,389

    Default

    I think the F key while the engine is selected will also work to flip it

  7. #7

    Default

    There are no unofficial enthusiast versions out there?

  8. #8

    Default

    A tip for editing consists: In the view menu, select "consist units". This produces a list view of the consist if it isn't already open - with options for UP, DOWN, DELETE and FLIP. (It is possible to change your preferences so this always opens). You can also add new rolling stock either at beginning or at end or at current, which works to put the new rolling stock just after the point in the consist you had clicked. The add random function is pretty cool too.
    Christopher

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •