Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Disable performance counters

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Doreen, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    6,659

    Default Disable performance counters

    To disable the performance counters go here:-

    https://ccm.net/faq/6230-windows-7-d...ounter-feature
    Cheers
    Derek

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    north of United States
    Posts
    1,294

    Default

    Derek -- Is that only for Windows 7 not Windows 10 or can be used for both. I am not sure about this.

    Thank you,

    John

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    1,916

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by derekmorton View Post
    To disable the performance counters go here:-

    https://ccm.net/faq/6230-windows-7-d...ounter-feature
    That's an excellent find Derek, thanks. Cheers, Gerry
    Cheers, R. Steele [Gerry] It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Doreen, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    6,659

    Default

    Hi John,

    I don't know, we need someone to test it.
    Cheers
    Derek

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    4,410

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by derekmorton View Post
    Hi John,

    I don't know, we need someone to test it.
    Nothing broke when I ran it.
    Charles

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    San Diego, CA
    Posts
    413

    Default

    Just ran this on my W10 system.

    It says "Both logical and physical disk performance counters on this system are automatically enabled on demand."

    Sounds to me like it's telling me to buzz off...
    Jeff

    Nothing is foolproof to a sufficiently-talented fool.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Doreen, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    6,659

    Default

    They are off on my system ( win7 )
    Cheers
    Derek

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Doreen, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    6,659

    Default

    The message still appears in the log with the counter disabled.
    I will keep looking for a solution.
    Cheers
    Derek

  9. #9

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by derekmorton View Post
    To disable the performance counters go here:-

    https://ccm.net/faq/6230-windows-7-d...ounter-feature
    This has nothing to do with the message you get with OpenRails. This is only a feature built into Windows to tell you how the Hard Disk is performing....nothing more. The message in Open Rails is a different performance counter all together and is built into software to tell administrators how software is performing, usually used on large servers or by software developers. It can be disabled for any program by using a program developed by Microsoft called Exctrlst.. Do a google to find a download. Disabling the counters does NOT change the way a program functions in any way. The counters are there only for peoples information nothing else. You can also disable counters in the registry but for someone not in the know it is not a wise thing to do. Forget the counters they do nothing but waste your time Cheers Monty

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Doreen, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    6,659

    Default

    Hi Monty,

    Yes, you are correct, the error message refers to .net performance counters.

    I have used exctrist.exe to disable ALL performance counters except for the .net counters.
    There is a surprising side effect though, my system can start OR without timing out though.
    Then I ran the m$ fix again, and the error message is no longer there.
    Cheers
    Derek

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •