Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: DEMEX 64 bit Installer?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Poteau, OK, USA.
    Posts
    4,665

    Default DEMEX 64 bit Installer?

    Was there a 64 bit installer for DEMEX some time back?

    If so, does anyone remember the name of it?

    Searching the File Library using "demex" or "64bit", etc, has produced nada.

    Basically I need to install my registered DEMEX into a Win7 Pro 64 bit OS.

    Any input would be much appreciated.

    Thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    north of United States
    Posts
    1,322

    Default

    Not sure if that is the one you are looking for and here is below:


    https://www.trainsim.com/vbts/tslib....ight&fid=30607



    John

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Poteau, OK, USA.
    Posts
    4,665

    Default

    Yes, I think that's it. Thank you very much.

    It's been so long since I've had to install DEMEX onto a Win7 Pro 64bit machine I've totally forgotten how.

    I "think" that I have to copy a working installation of DEMEX from a 16bit installation machine onto the Win7 machine and then place the 64bit exe inside the DEMEX folder? Does that sound right?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,087

    Default

    Hi Andre,
    I uploaded that file to the library
    No, sorry, you're not right! There's no such thing as a "64bit exe" file - if you follow my readme, I think it should be clear - if not, please come back. To use all the functions of DEMEX, you need to have a key.

    Cheers,
    Ged

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2002
    Location
    Poteau, OK, USA.
    Posts
    4,665

    Default

    Thanks Ged.

    Hi Ged!

    First off, thanks for uploading the file.

    Yes, I have a key. I originally purchased DEMEX way back shortly after getting into MSTS. (2002 I think?) I have version 1.51 as well as the Beta 02 version. I would not mess with installing DEMEX onto this Win7 64 bit machine except for the fact that the DEM the USGS is putting out now is too large for my XP machine.

    Today is going to be a day of "social distancing" aboard our (wife and I) dual sport motorcycles up in the Ozark Mountains of Arkansas. However, tonight I will tackle the process of installation.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Newark, Delaware
    Posts
    1,298

    Default

    Hi, Andre

    I purchased DEMEX also many years ago and had a key. I need to move it to another system and a search for a key has not turned one up. Is there anyone around who might have the records to obtain a key? I have the last software version and a registry snippet, but somewhat reluctant to run it on regedit with a new system.

    Regards,
    Hank Sundermeyer
    Newark, DE

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville,, FL, USA.
    Posts
    3,829

    Default

    Andre,

    The geotiff files that USGS puts out now, will not work on DEMEX. What we have found is that you
    can use VTBuilder to massage them. Run VTBuilder as administrator, otherwise it will process the
    files but not produce viable results. After running as administrator, import the USGS files as
    elelvation data and then after they load (one at a time) export them as the same thing, GeoTiff.
    I just remove the front end characters of the file name which will all be the same. Then, if you have
    run it as administrator, you should get a DEMEX compatible file. The issue is that the new files are
    "tiled" while the ones VTBuilder produces are not.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •