Thread: Undrivable UP U50s

Default Undrivable UP U50s

Hi.I was wondering if anyone else has had problems running the UP U50s that are available here,on this site. Im using Open Rails,cant see why that would be the problem. I have Hundreds of different Locos etc,,,This has never happened before ever.I have been at this hobby for over 10yrs,so im not a newbie lol,but this has me stumped! Any help, or solutions would be greatly appreciated!
    Thx!!

Any clue in the OR log?
    ............Vince ..............
    ...... Author NECv4 .......
    .... LIRR BUILD PHOTOS ....
    .............LIRR VIDEO.............
    ...... Eschew Obsfucation ......

On the The Statue of Liberty in New York Harbor there is a Tablet. On it is written:
    "Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
    the wretched refuse of your teeming shore, send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me,
    I lift my lamp beside the golden door!"

Hi tonestones,
    The loco is very old, but, assuming you're referring to the up_u50.zip file from this site, it does run OK in Open Rails, after you've made one crucial correction! On line 748 of the .eng file, MaxPower is shown as 3730kN, which OR doesn't like! Change it to 3730kW and you'll be OK

There are also a couple of 'n/m' errors on line 14 (which won't stop the loco from running) - the line should be changed to : Damping ( 1.2e6N/m/s 3.7e6N/m/s )

Cheers,
    Ged

Thanks for the quick reply.Yes ,that is the engine in question. I will give that a shot, and report back.
    Cheers!

Success!! Thank you again for your help solving this problem.