Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: Are SSD's this cheap nowadays?

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,092

    Default

    Hi Steve,
    I have no personal experience of these Samsung T7 SSDs, but it appears that they are portable drives and require a USB 3.2 Gen 2 interface with your PC. To get the full benefit from it, you'd need to make sure that (a) your PC can accept that type of USB socket, and (b) that you can actually fit one. If not, it may work on a USB 3 socket, but at a slower transfer rate - I wouldn't recommend a USB 2 socket!

    Cheers,
    Ged

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    1,630

    Default

    Thanks very much for that Ged. I rang the company who built my computer, which is 6 years old now astonishingly enough, and they said it will work but the port is only a 3.0 so I probably won't get the faster speeds currently, but, if I upgrade in the next year, or, two, then I would be able to take advantage of a port with a 3.2 interface, so, something to remember for the future.

    So, I'll get the credit card out and give it a bashing.

    Cheerz. Steve.
    i5 4690 3.5 GHz Quad Core CPU, Gigabyte Z97-HD3, 16GB RAM, nVidia GTX1060 6GB, WIN 7 PRO 64-bit.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Doreen, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    6,734

    Default

    Hi Steve,

    If you do have the Z97-HD3 motherboard, the is no USB-C socket.
    Do you have an addon card?

    Samsung T7
    Compatible with USB 3.2 Gen2 (10 Gbps)

    https://www.msi.com/blog/new-usb-sta...gen2-explained
    Cheers
    Derek

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    1,630

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by derekmorton View Post
    Hi Steve,
    If you do have the Z97-HD3 motherboard, the is no USB-C socket.
    Do you have an addon card?
    Thanks for that information, Derek. I've ordered an SSD, it should be with me in the next 24/48 hours, so, I will have a look at what USB cables are included, it did say there were 2 with it, a C and an A, so, I'll wait and see if something fits and I can get it to work.

    Cheerz. Steve.
    i5 4690 3.5 GHz Quad Core CPU, Gigabyte Z97-HD3, 16GB RAM, nVidia GTX1060 6GB, WIN 7 PRO 64-bit.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    1,630

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by derekmorton View Post
    Do you have an addon card?
    Errrr, I don't know what that is. Yes, I do have a Z97-HD3 motherboard, I don't have another Memory card reader, I haven't obtained anything since 2014 for the machine, except a new nVidia Graphics card which I bought in 2017, so, what would you suggest if the USB cable and port are incompatible? Is there something easy I can get from an internet retail site such as Amazon, or, ebay?

    Cheerz. Steve
    i5 4690 3.5 GHz Quad Core CPU, Gigabyte Z97-HD3, 16GB RAM, nVidia GTX1060 6GB, WIN 7 PRO 64-bit.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Doreen, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    6,734

    Default

    We need to wait and see if you can connect the device when you get it.
    Cheers
    Derek

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    1,630

    Default

    Nope, no go Derek. I've received it by Courier, but, I only got one small cable in the box, which barely fitted into the port and then I got a pop up that advised me that it had surged the port, so, I clicked a few buttons and took the cable out and burst into tears.......
    This is a screenshot of what the pop up said. Ged was right my USB is only a 3.0 and this won't fit properly, and it's cooked the system, I don't want to fiddle about with it any more in case it does some irreparable damage to my PC.

    Cheerz. Steve.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by ex-railwayman; 07-16-2020 at 07:35 PM. Reason: re-edit
    i5 4690 3.5 GHz Quad Core CPU, Gigabyte Z97-HD3, 16GB RAM, nVidia GTX1060 6GB, WIN 7 PRO 64-bit.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Doreen, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    6,734

    Default

    It hasn't cooked the system, just an overload.
    Reboot and all should be ok.

    Can you take a picture of the cable end and post it.
    Cheers
    Derek

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    1,630

    Default

    This is a shot of the cable ends and another of the cable and SSD that was received, I had my pocket calculator on the desk, so, put that beside it to show the size, it's tiny....Hope this is of some help, thanks for assisting me, I've made a complete dog's breakfast of this by the looks of it.

    And my system seems to be alright, I logged on OK this morning, so, that's a relief.

    Cheerz. Steve.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by ex-railwayman; 07-17-2020 at 04:39 AM. Reason: re-edit
    i5 4690 3.5 GHz Quad Core CPU, Gigabyte Z97-HD3, 16GB RAM, nVidia GTX1060 6GB, WIN 7 PRO 64-bit.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Doreen, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    6,734

    Default

    Hi Steve,

    These are USB-C connectors, and you don't have any, like me.
    I will have a look for alternatives for you.

    You need :- https://www.amazon.com/StarTech-com-.../dp/B00YEDSD6C

    Its from Amazon, so should be available to you. I am in Oz.
    Last edited by derekmorton; 07-17-2020 at 05:38 AM.
    Cheers
    Derek

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •