Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: So much to learn with Blender

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Cumming Ga
    Posts
    2,597

    Default So much to learn with Blender

    What is slowing me down now?

    Texturing. A side effect of being flexible is complexity. That complexity is available in numerous quantities of options I still don't fully understand. Even a simple test model is difficult. I'll eventually figure it out... but not so far today.

    Last edited by pwillard; 06-29-2020 at 09:11 AM. Reason: spelling
    http://www.railsimstuff.com
    3D Canvas/Crafter and Blender User
    formerly The Keystone Works (All Permissions Granted)
    In IRC at freenode #msts

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2004
    Location
    Perth, WA, Australia.
    Posts
    560

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pwillard View Post
    What is slowing me down now?

    Texturing. A side effect of being flexible is complexity. That complexity is available in numerous quantities of options I still don't fully understand. Even a simple test model is difficult. I'll eventually figure it out... but not so far today.
    What problems are you having with texturing?

  3. #3

    Default

    I gave up and went back to Sketchup. Maybe if there's a good current tutorial, I'll take another stab at it over the winter.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Cumming Ga
    Posts
    2,597

    Default

    My issues stem from not fully understanding the concepts behind materials, unwrapping, and how to properly use the shader nodes yet. The concrete pad in my model was supposed to have a concrete texture... it didn't work. Still figuring it out.

    This was far simpler, albeit very crude, in 3dCrafter/Canvas.
    http://www.railsimstuff.com
    3D Canvas/Crafter and Blender User
    formerly The Keystone Works (All Permissions Granted)
    In IRC at freenode #msts

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2002
    Location
    .
    Posts
    631

    Default

    If you are using my MSTS exporter you shouldn't need to do anything with shader nodes. Just choose your texture and lighting options in the MSTS Materials panel. It will create the shader tree for you. But you still need to do the UV mapping for things to look right. Keep at it - success is near!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Cumming Ga
    Posts
    2,597

    Default

    Oh yeah, I'm not beaten... I'll get this worked out. It's such a better tool overall than the one I've been using.
    http://www.railsimstuff.com
    3D Canvas/Crafter and Blender User
    formerly The Keystone Works (All Permissions Granted)
    In IRC at freenode #msts

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Musterhausen
    Posts
    116

    Default

    Another very useful plugin is the built-in "Vertex to intersection" tool (V2X for short), which I use very often. It lets you place, for example, new vertices at the intersection of two edges, which makes it useful for slanted faces and such.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •