Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: FJ&G 3 caboose: misaligned wheels

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Delson, Quebec, Canada.
    Posts
    133

    Default FJ&G 3 caboose: misaligned wheels

    Hi to all,

    While starting to run a new activity on the FJ&G v2 route, I have noticed the following looking at the wheels of the FJ&G caboose during pickup of some cars at Fonda:

    see image below:

    Has anyone noticed this before?


    Thanks

    Denis


    Follow-up: Once the train was moving again, the wheels re-aligned back to normal.

    OK now.

    Denis
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by dgionet; 07-20-2020 at 09:39 PM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Doreen, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    6,734

    Default

    Hi Denis,

    I get it in DARv3.
    Cheers
    Derek

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brockville, ON, CA
    Posts
    2,683

    Default

    I don't think there is anything anyone can do about this. The caboose was a reskin of a Larry Gross model 13 years ago, haven't seen Larry Gross around here for a very long time.

    There is a solution, the FJ&G was not using the caboose by the late 70s and it was off the property in the very early 80s after being repainted blue for one of the other Delaware Otsego railways... so just stop using it!

    Paul :-)

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Delson, Quebec, Canada.
    Posts
    133

    Default

    Hi Paul,

    Thanks for the info about the use of cabooses in the DO system. Actually thought that use of cabooses stopped in the late eighties or early nineties in North America.

    Denis

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brockville, ON, CA
    Posts
    2,683

    Default

    I remember the first time I saw a train without a caboose. Spring of 1980 on the Lamoille Valley in Vermont. If I remember correctly, they were allowed to run without a caboose because their speed limit was only 25 mph. A year later they were back running with a caboose.

    Paul :-)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Lexington, Ky
    Posts
    2,625

    Default

    Also make sure you are running the latest OR...........................
    Some other models had this issue with earlier OR versions..........
    Rick

    http:\\mononrr.com

    MONON-2


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Location
    Delson, Quebec, Canada.
    Posts
    133

    Default

    Yep,

    Running the very latest OR Monogame version v68.

    Great to see Carlo continuously working on the MG to improve it. OR is a lot better now compared with some years ago.
    Last edited by dgionet; 07-21-2020 at 04:17 PM.

  8. #8

    Default

    I recall the 1979 Model Railroader story talking about how it was one of many shortlines running without a caboose.

    Springfield Terminal never did use a caboose.

    Christopher

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Somewhere in the swamps of Jersey (NJ)
    Posts
    795

    Default

    Paul is right. The DO years of the FJ&G they hardly used a caboose in regular service. Mostly they were used in MOW service.

    The same goes for another DO owned company the NYS&W. After the DO purchased it, you hardly seen a hack in the consist. Though into the very early 1980's the NYSW would use one as an idler car inside the old Forstmann Woolens plant on the Passaic Branch. I was lucky because the branch & former plant was in my hometown so I got to see them using them many times just for that.
    - Mark -

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •