Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Route In Progress - Kansas City, Ozarks, and Southern Railway

Default Route In Progress - Kansas City, Ozarks, and Southern Railway

Hi folks, Cade here!
    I am pleased to announce I have finally found the time and motivation to begin working on a OpenRails route, my first one to be exact, the Kansas City, Ozarks, and Southern Railway (KCO&S). As a resident of Douglas County, Missouri, this abandoned line has always interested me because it was the only rail line we ever had in the county. I began working on it at the very end of July and as of tonight, I have all track work completed, along with roads and large portions of forests. This is my first ever route project and I am still learning the TSRE5 editor and this will also be my first time building custom objects and locomotives, so suggestions and advice is welcome! Thank you!

Historical Background:
    The KCO&S was a 15 mile short line linking Ava, Missouri with Mansfield and the United States rail network. Ava is a rural town situated in the rugged Ozark Plateau that up until the early 20th century was relatively disconnected from the outside world as no major trails or railroads ran through the hamlet. However, Douglas County was locally known for its railroad tie and tomato industries whose products were in desperate need of modern transport to other markets. The call would be answered by J. B. Quigley who opened the railroad in 1910. The KCO&S connected with the Frisco Railroad at Mansfield and gave Ava its link to the US rail system. Quigley was tight on cash so was forced to follow the lay of the land and was limited on the amount of cutting, bridge building and embankments he could use which led to some pretty intense grades and tight curves. The railroad operated a Heisler locomotive and rented steam engines from the Frisco. The KCO&S profits peaked in the early 1920's before entering bankruptcy and being abandoned in 1935.

The Route: