Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Issue with Pacific Surfliner 2.3 activity under Open Rails

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lubec ME USA
    Posts
    313

    Unhappy Issue with Pacific Surfliner 2.3 activity under Open Rails

    Surfliner 2.3, the freeware version downloaded from the file library. Activity from the surfliner activity pack.

    Running the HT_Amtrak_14 activity which is the Coast Starlight run from LAUPT to San Luis Obispo. The briefing states that you may have a standoff with a Metrolink train just North of Van Nuys and if you do just reverse your throttle momentarily and the train should move out of your way. Except it doesn't after several attempts to move in reverse. My train is stopped at a red signal just before the short passing siding north of the station and the Metrolink train (HT_Metrolink_112_AI) is stopped at the other end of the siding in a standoff. I suspect the reversing trick works in MSTS but not in OR.

    The last ditch solution is to delete the AI train from the traffic but before I do I would like to see if there is any other solution.

    Jon

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,059

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonpd View Post
    Surfliner 2.3, the freeware version downloaded from the file library. Activity from the surfliner activity pack.

    Running the HT_Amtrak_14 ... I suspect the reversing trick works in MSTS but not in OR.

    The last ditch solution is to delete the AI train from the traffic but before I do I would like to see if there is any other solution.

    Jon
    Yes, that particular instruction applies to MSTS not Open Rails, did you try going to manual mode, getting through the standoff and then going back to auto mode? I have not run the activity but I can usually get through any problems in OR by using manual mode and in some cases using the "Train List" window to jump to the AI train ( suspending player for the moment ) and re-routing it.
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,059

    Default

    Just ran activity all the way past Van Nuys station, I had greens from Van Nuys to Simi Valley, noticed the Metrolink Traffic waiting in the siding north of Van Nuys, I had the green and the traffic waited until I cleared.

    Have you created an "OpenRails" folder in the route and copied the sigcfg.dat file and all the sigscr.dat files into it? I also put in the trk file for the route, take a look at the screenshots.

    Also, make sure all the "SignalNumClearAhead" entries in the sigcfg.dat file are "4" or greater. That's all I got, besides a path problem..you could check those.

    bandicam 2020-10-29 23-17-32-493.jpg bandicam 2020-10-29 23-19-46-240.jpg
    Last edited by R. Steele; 10-30-2020 at 03:37 AM.
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lubec ME USA
    Posts
    313

    Default

    Interesting result. I made the changes you suggested above. I did find one "SignalNumClearAhead" that was 2 and changed it to 4.

    Running the activity from the beginning, when I get North of Van Nuys I get a green signal allowing me on to the single track even though 112 is heading at me! So I stopped just before the end of the passing siding where it goes to single track. 112 stops at the signal just before the switch so we have a standoff. I switched to manual mode and then the switch threw and allowed 112 to enter the siding. After it had cleared I switched back to auto and was able to proceed although I will probably be late into Simi Valley.

    Very strange behavior.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,059

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonpd View Post
    Very strange behavior.
    Odd indeed, however, some time back there was a thread over at Elvas about users experiencing different timing in activities. I believe one of the OR developers ( cannot remember who ) thought that might be traced back to the timing in the users machines, or operating systems...also I should mention that I ran the activity from the beginning to Van Nuys in Autopilot, then switched it off and ran in normal auto mode. That's what can happen with these legacy MSTS activities... I'm just pleased they run in OR and OR is flexible enough to work around the problems while running the activity.
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK.
    Posts
    6,923

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonpd View Post
    ............ although I will probably be late into Simi Valley.
    I have found that it is just about impossible to maintain MSTS timings when running an MSTS activity in OR.
    Beer is not a matter of life or death, it is much more serious than that.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lubec ME USA
    Posts
    313

    Default

    I tried running the remainder of the activity in stages. I was able to get within 30 miles of SLO, although to do that I basically had to force my own meets - the activity would just give me a permissive stop signal and allow me to run past it and collide with an oncoming train. This worked until 30 miles from SLO when a freight plus a following Amtrak both against me and no passing siding. I gave up at that point. Looks like the activity needs to be totally redone to work in OR. Maybe I'll give it a try when I need a break from route building work.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •