Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13

Thread: Mullan Pass + Ruel problems

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    597

    Default Mullan Pass + Ruel problems

    Hi guys, a little help if possible please. Downloaded Mullan Pass recently and have just started running activities. I'm getting OR log messages detailing missing road sections and I've also noticed all the buffer stops have disappeared on sidings. (or spurs if you prefer.)
    I checked my copy of the Ruel route and the buffer stops have now disappeared from that route too. I have my 3 TS routes ( Mullan, Ruel, BNSF Starter route) in a totally separate installation from MSTS (marked TrainSimulations) and all was well until I downloaded Mullan. I'm sure it's something I've done but am at a loss as to what. Any ideas?
    Dell desktop. Intel i5 3.3 CPU. 8GB RAM. Nvidia GT710 2GB graphics. Windows Pro 64bit. RailDriver.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    4,628

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by niknak View Post
    Hi guys, a little help if possible please. Downloaded Mullan Pass recently and have just started running activities. I'm getting OR log messages detailing missing road sections and I've also noticed all the buffer stops have disappeared on sidings. (or spurs if you prefer.)
    I checked my copy of the Ruel route and the buffer stops have now disappeared from that route too. I have my 3 TS routes ( Mullan, Ruel, BNSF Starter route) in a totally separate installation from MSTS (marked TrainSimulations) and all was well until I downloaded Mullan. I'm sure it's something I've done but am at a loss as to what. Any ideas?
    Reinstall and exclude that folder from your virus protection software.
    Charles

  3. #3

    Default

    Hello,

    I recently downloaded Mullan while it was on sale and had the same problem with missing road sections and other errors. I made it sure the route was installed to its own Mini-route folder outside of the protected Program Files directory, and that the installer finished without errors. I also disabled Windows defender and Norton temporarily and tried reinstalling, but still no luck. I tried a couple of different installation methods as well(installing to desktop, thumb drive, etc) so I am not sure what I did wrong...

    Eventually, I just gave up and copied the missing road shapes over from another route. It is mostly the dirtroad_ and road2l_ straightaways and turns. Then, I uncompressed each of the shape files and changed each texture from ".ace" to ".dds" since TrainSimulations retained the texture names but not the format. This seemed to solve the problem as the missing road sections at the Bonner lumber mill showed up.

    A couple of other bugs I found while running activities: (Weren't some of these mentioned and fixed before?)

    1) OR Error with blank.ace in the SD70ACe cabviews - Fixed by creating a new 10px * 10px blank.ace in Gimp

    2) World tile "w-012581+014688" has "DirtRoad2LStrt10m_NA.s" named incorrectly - Fixed by opening the world tile and replacing all instances of "DirtRoad2LStrt10m_NA.s" with "DirtRoad2LStrt10m.s"

    3) ORmg rev 82 Error: SR_Track_w7.dds missing. Additionally, the Ace files counterparts in the texture folder will not export correctly. I fixed this by copying the related aces from another SR install and converting them to dds. This is only an error in MG rev. 82

    4) rlightc.dds error: I simply deleted this file, and the error log went away.

    5) Lighting error(s) with sk_roseburglumber.s: I couldn't figure out how to fix this, anybody know a method?

    6) Missing medium_river sms: I couldn't find this in any other TS route I own, but I'm sure it's out there.

    7)
    Scalerail bridge 5m end track has default texture color, not route specific.

    I did not have any errors with the bumpers disappearing, so I have no ideas about that.

    For what it's worth, I think this route is STUNNING and a good example of what is possible with OR. This isn't meant as a complaint, and I am thankful TS has taken the effort to produce such prototypical and interesting products! I have already spent hours playing the provided activities and "exploring" the old grades and tunnels (I really like those kinds of details ). Thanks TS!

    Hopefully this helps someone...

    Peter

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,101

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter M View Post
    Hello,
    ...Then, I uncompressed each of the shape files and changed each texture from ".ace" to ".dds" since TrainSimulations retained the texture names but not the format. This seemed to solve the problem as the missing road sections at the Bonner lumber mill showed up.
    ...
    A couple of other bugs I found while running activities: (Weren't some of these mentioned and fixed before.
    Hopefully this helps someone...

    Peter
    Very helpful post Peter, thanks...I had forgotten to change the texture from ace to dds in the shapefiles...and also never bothered to check the world files for the naming error...thanks.
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    597

    Default

    Can I just echo Gerry's thanks for that helpful information Peter. Regarding the medium river sms - I just copied and renamed the water_c sms and that seems to do the trick. The missing buffers are a real mystery - I just have Ruel, Mullan and the BNSF starter router in the TrainSimulations folder. The starter route has it's buffers whilst the other two routes are missing them, although Ruel WAS okay until I installed Mullan recently. I have reinstalled Mullan to no effect. I have to say that the problems haven't spoilt my enjoyment of the route.
    Last edited by niknak; 12-03-2020 at 11:33 AM.
    Dell desktop. Intel i5 3.3 CPU. 8GB RAM. Nvidia GT710 2GB graphics. Windows Pro 64bit. RailDriver.

  6. #6

    Default

    One question I would ask is: Is the shape itself missing (the tsection line shows up in the editor, but no bumpers; you get an error for the missing shape), or is there no tsection line at all?

    Additionally, I installed Ruel, Mullan, and the starter route in seperate mini routes because I didn't want to have troubles with overwriting files. You might want to do this if you continue to have problems with the track sections.

    Also, thanks for the idea about the sms. I'll do that this evening.

    Peter
    Last edited by Peter M; 12-03-2020 at 12:21 PM. Reason: add more info

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    597

    Default

    Peter, I don't get any messages on the OR logfile regarding the buffers. In the TrainSimulations Global tsection file there are several different types of buffer listed. a1tbuffer, BRBuffer, SR1tBuffer etc. The 1st and last of these 3 show up in the Global Shapes folder but not the BR buffer. I'm by no means proficient in these matters so am kind of groping in the dark here lol.
    Dell desktop. Intel i5 3.3 CPU. 8GB RAM. Nvidia GT710 2GB graphics. Windows Pro 64bit. RailDriver.

  8. #8

    Default

    Oops, when I said "the tsection line shows up in the editor, but no bumpers" I meant TrackDatabase line. (The yellow line in TSRE). If you open the route(s) in TSRE and see the yellow line section for the bumper track, but the shape fails to appear underneath the line, it could be a problem with the shape file itself.

    Otherwise... I have no idea what would cause the buffers (or the textures) to "disappear" from the route itself without errors. Since the relevant shapes are present and listed in the global tsection, the problem must lie somewhere else.

    FWIW, the tsection (54) will list all of the track sections ever created for OR/MSTS, even if they aren't present in the specific route. Essentially, the a1tbuffer is xtracks, the SRbuffer is scalerail, etc... IIRC BRbuffer is UKfinescale but I don't use that so I could be wrong.
    As far as I can tell, Mullan uses only scalerail, while Ruel and Scenic use xtracks and possibly some scalerail pieces. Thus, the missing BRbuffer shouldn't be causing a problem.

    Either way, the situation you describe is complexing, as the lack of errors must involve some major edits to each route's world tiles, tdb, and more to fully delete the existence of the buffers. That shouldn't happen by simply installing a new route into the directory, since those files are contained in the routes themselves and wouldn't be changed/overwritten. Additionally, the track textures are contained in the route folder as well.

    I would try re-installing a temporary copy of Ruel or Scenic as a mini-route, and make sure the buffers show up in OR in that clean install.

    (Or, you could try going to the Bonner mill woodchip tracks in your current version. Do you see the bumpers there?)

    Peter
    Last edited by Peter M; 12-03-2020 at 02:29 PM. Reason: Clarification

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    597

    Default

    Yes it's a bit of a mystery Peter. I took a trip to Bonner and noticed some small buffers on some of the spurs there. Also, on a few of the other spurs on the way to Bonner there was the occasional large-type buffer present. But the most commonly used buffers on the majority of the spurs are missing. I will persevere lol. Many thanks for your help anyway.
    Dell desktop. Intel i5 3.3 CPU. 8GB RAM. Nvidia GT710 2GB graphics. Windows Pro 64bit. RailDriver.

  10. #10

    Default

    Ok! Let me know if you find anything!

    Thanks,
    Peter

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->