Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Placing a Freight Animation

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Oshawa ON
    Posts
    1,673

    Default Placing a Freight Animation

    Hey, I know it is not prototypical, but hey, I like it. I want to properly place this "AirFoil" on the roof of #1202 Amt Baggage car. How and where do I use the figures that SFV gives me to place it? I used the file directly from the car it belongs on, but it is too far aft of where it needs to be. It is placed correctly here in this pic on SFV with co-ordinates.AMTRAK Baggage 1202 Airfoil Placement.jpg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Lexington, Ky
    Posts
    2,662

    Default

    are you using OR or MSTS
    Rick

    http:\\mononrr.com

    MONON-2


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Oshawa ON
    Posts
    1,673

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rick-MONON View Post
    are you using OR or MSTS
    OR exclusively. No MSTS here...............

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,207

    Default

    Hi Don,
    I'm no expert by any stretch of the imagination, but wouldn't Shape File Manager be the program you need to position your shape? I know it might be difficult as you've stated you've "no MSTS" there, which would imply that you don't have FFEDITc_unicode,exe!

    I appreciate that experienced model builders may have other methods. However, I am currently working on a replacement for FFEDITc_Unicode.exe, but it's not ready yet.

    Cheers,
    Ged

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Lexington, Ky
    Posts
    2,662

    Default

    Using OR, good then, hopefully you are using TSRE Consist Builder also, will be easy.

    Remove the whole below line:
    FreightAnim (Airfoil.s 1 1 )

    Replace it with this:

    ORTSFreightAnims
    (
    MSTSFreightAnimsEnabled ( 1 )
    FreightAnimStatic
    (
    SubType ( Default )
    Shape ( Airfoil.s )
    Offset ( 0.0 0.0 0.0 )
    )
    )
    Save the file and open OR do check and redo after you make adjustments.
    Or if your using TSRE Consist Builder, go to the Baggage Car shape and view it there.
    To adjust it make the Offset correction and save the file, and in TSRE Consist Builder
    reload the image by clicking the top ENG tab and then click Reload Shape.

    You do not need to use shape manager, just adjust the
    Offset ( 0.0 0.0 0.0 ) in the baggage car .wag file
    X Y Z
    Last edited by Rick-MONON; 12-18-2020 at 07:38 PM.
    Rick

    http:\\mononrr.com

    MONON-2


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Oshawa ON
    Posts
    1,673

    Default

    Ged, I do have SFM and it works fine, I believe there was an update or something to add a while ago for use with OR.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Oshawa ON
    Posts
    1,673

    Default

    Thank you Rick! Do I use the co-ordinates in SV, or does TSRE give me the ones I need?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW MO
    Posts
    451

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Don6218 View Post
    Ged, I do have SFM and it works fine, I believe there was an update or something to add a while ago for use with OR.
    SFM25 works out of the box for OR, as long as you have access to FFEDIT.
    You might be thinkng of the DDS texture update for ShapeViewer.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    belo horizonte, minas gerais, brasil
    Posts
    433

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Don6218 View Post
    Hey, I know it is not prototypical, but hey, I like it. I want to properly place this "AirFoil" on the roof of #1202 Amt Baggage car. How and where do I use the figures that SFV gives me to place it? I used the file directly from the car it belongs on, but it is too far aft of where it needs to be. It is placed correctly here in this pic on SFV with co-ordinates.AMTRAK Baggage 1202 Airfoil Placement.jpg
    if using MSTS FreightAnim line (Airfoil.s 1 1) must be maintained

    in the case of OPEN RAILS, Rick's suggestion
    ORTSFreightAnims
    (
    MSTSFreightAnimsEnabled (1)
    FreightAnimStatic
    (
    SubType (Default)
    Shape (Airfoil.s)
    Offset (0.0 0.0 0.0)
    )
    )

    in SFM, accurately position the item exactly.

    it is unnecessary to use the FreightAnim line (Airfoil.s 1 1) in the case of OPEN RAILS
    Chimbica Dash8

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Oshawa ON
    Posts
    1,673

    Default

    OK Rick, I changed the 0.0 in the OR add-in, am I correct in assuming X is Side to Side, Y is Up-Down & Z is along the Length?
    I changed the numbers and saved it, but no change in either viewer.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->