Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: probably a silly Question again?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Wrexham North Wales UK
    Posts
    297

    Default probably a silly Question again?

    Should this be in my Open Rails Content Page, more importantly what is It please.

    Open Rails Train Simulator - ZZ C:\ Open Rails Train Simulator - ZZ

    Have been experimenting with Siskiyou Route but not aware that It was working yet. Or should it be in MSTS Please.

    Many thanks

    Paul.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Wrexham North Wales UK
    Posts
    297

    Default

    Siskiyou Route Isn't working correctly anyway.

    Scenery is very drab, Roads and Traffic are displayed but there are no Railway Tracks displayed.

    The Following Is Installed as per Instructions:

    ScaleRail_Base ScaleRail, ScaleRail_Update_177a , ScaleRoad, SView1_3_129

    But nothing seems to be happening as Usual.

    Thanks

    Paul.
    Last edited by pcohen; 01-01-2021 at 09:00 AM. Reason: wrong

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    669

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pcohen View Post
    Should this be in my Open Rails Content Page, more importantly what is It please.

    Open Rails Train Simulator - ZZ C:\ Open Rails Train Simulator - ZZ

    Have been experimenting with Siskiyou Route but not aware that It was working yet. Or should it be in MSTS Please.

    Many thanks

    Paul.
    Isn't that the AUS NSW ZZ route?
    Dell Desktop. Intel i5 3.3 CPU. 8GB RAM. Nvidia GTX 1050Ti 4GB graphics. Windows Pro 64bit. RailDriver. Partridge in a pear tree...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Wrexham North Wales UK
    Posts
    297

    Default

    Hi niknak, thanks for reply.

    Really don't have a clue, not seen it before, strange as it may seem? cannot find it anywhere else. Must have appeared from somewhere.

    thanks

    Paul,

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,277

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pcohen View Post
    Siskiyou Route Isn't working correctly anyway.

    Scenery is very drab, Roads and Traffic are displayed but there are no Railway Tracks displayed.

    The Following Is Installed as per Instructions:

    ScaleRail_Base ScaleRail, ScaleRail_Update_177a , ScaleRoad, SView1_3_129

    But nothing seems to be happening as Usual.

    Thanks

    Paul.
    The Siskiyou Route is a work in progress. Dale releases updates as his excellent work progresses. You will find the work to be meticulous, with equipment and activities included...however, some parts of the route are still being planted by the head landscaper ( also named Dale )! I have not installed the latest updates, so I cannot address your question about the tracks, you'd have to be more specific as to location, however, it could be you are missing some textures?

    I don't understand your differentiation between OR and MSTS. If you are primarily running MSTS you can still install the OR simulator ( to for instance C:\OpenRails ) and using the OR Content tab point OR to your MSTS installation ( C:\MSTS). If you also have routes that are specifically designed for OR you could install those to this location C:\OR ROUTES\ ... making sure to follow the basic folder structure that is outlined in Chapters 4 & 5 of the manual, specifcally folder structure is "4.4 Using a Non-MSTS Folder Structure".
    Of course you will choose folder names that make sense to you, I give examples only.

    "ZZ" ( zig zag railway ) sounds like this route for Open Rails found here https://www.zigzag.coalstonewcastle.com.au/
    Last edited by R. Steele; 01-01-2021 at 12:24 PM.
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    4,685

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pcohen View Post
    Should this be in my Open Rails Content Page, more importantly what is It please.

    Open Rails Train Simulator - ZZ C:\ Open Rails Train Simulator - ZZ

    Have been experimenting with Siskiyou Route but not aware that It was working yet. Or should it be in MSTS Please.

    Many thanks

    Paul.
    That is the Zig Zag Railway that you probably downloaded from the ORTS Home page with the OR starter kit. It installs into its Own, separate from any other MSTS/ORTS installation.
    Charles

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    4,685

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pcohen View Post
    Siskiyou Route Isn't working correctly anyway.

    Scenery is very drab, Roads and Traffic are displayed but there are no Railway Tracks displayed.

    The Following Is Installed as per Instructions:

    ScaleRail_Base ScaleRail, ScaleRail_Update_177a , ScaleRoad, SView1_3_129

    But nothing seems to be happening as Usual.

    Thanks

    Paul.
    What is your Path to the Siskiyou Route? As in X:\MSTS\ROUTES\Siskiyou or C:\Program Files (x86)\Microsoft Games\Train Simulator\ROUTES\Siskiyou. I placed mine in a separate install: A:\Siskiyou\Routes\Siskiyou

    Where did you install ScaleRail to? It should have been to the Global folder and you should find this sub folder X:\(Your Install)\Global\ScaleRail
    Charles

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Wrexham North Wales UK
    Posts
    297

    Default

    Sorry Guys, seem to be getting Two Routes Mixed up together here!

    Thanks

    Paul.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Wrexham North Wales UK
    Posts
    297

    Default

    Hi Charles, thanks for reply and apologies for late reply.

    I have Two options that I use. Most of my MSTS content Since the arrival of Windows 10 usually Works OK in C:\Microsoft Games\Train Simulator (DO NOT USE PROGRAM FILES (x86) ) The following Routes, MONON-2, Scottish Central, PRR_EAST_REG-2 & Thames Trent Version 3 I have installed into Drive C: as Single Routes

    I have tried all ways to Install Siskiyou Route over the last few Days but with no luck, hitting a brick wall every time.

    What am I doing wrong please.

    Many thanks

    Paul.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    4,685

    Default

    When you don't tell us what is wrong after running the install, how do you expect us to tell you what you did wrong and how to do it right?
    Charles

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->