Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: Shape Viewer problem

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,217

    Default Shape Viewer problem

    Hi All,
    Trying to use Shape Viewer today, I found it wouldn't work, giving the message shown below.

    Uninstalling and re-installing makes no difference.

    Does anybody know the reason, and a possible solution, please?

    SV_Error.jpg

    Cheers,
    Ged

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    4,662

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slipperman View Post
    Hi All,
    Trying to use Shape Viewer today, I found it wouldn't work, giving the message shown below.

    Uninstalling and re-installing makes no difference.

    Does anybody know the reason, and a possible solution, please?

    SV_Error.jpg

    Cheers,
    Ged
    Are you using the DDS version?

    Error on only one object or multiple?

    What object are you trying to view?
    Charles

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,217

    Default

    Hi Charles,
    Thanks for your reply.
    No. I'm not using the DDS version. Multiple/All objects - tested with default 380, Dash9 and KIHA31.
    It even occurs when starting Shape Viewer from its shortcut, which makes me think that maybe a Windows update has affected it.

    Cheers,
    Ged

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    4,662

    Default

    Try rebooting.
    Charles

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW MO
    Posts
    458

    Default

    I had this happen a month or so ago on one of my computers. It was a "feature" update, ver1904.
    I capped the update on my main box to 1863.
    I haven't put a lot of effort into fixing it but I need to.
    I'm all ears.

    Randy

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Doreen, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    6,855

    Default

    I have the dds version running with 20H2, but I had to register the ocx by hand.
    Cheers
    Derek

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    4,662

    Default

    Ged and Randy,
    Windows 10 version? As in 20H2.
    Charles

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,217

    Default

    Hi Charles,
    Yes, Windows 10 version 20H2.

    ... and not just rebooting, but a cold boot also didn't help!

    Exactly the same program in the same location runs OK under Win 7 (dual boot), which made me point my finger at Windows 10!

    Cheers,
    Ged

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    4,662

    Default

    Click on Start and Run. (Or press the Windows Key + the R key on your keyboard)
    Type "regsvr32.exe trainlib.ocx" click OK
    Charles

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,217

    Default

    Hi Charles,
    "Module not found" message so I copied it from the Shape Viewer folder into SysWOW64 where it overwrote a version already there. Same error message. Copied it into System32, which didn't already have it. This time, the message was that trainlib.ocx wasn't compatible with this version of Windows.

    Uninstalled Shape Viewer and installed the DDS version - same results!

    Cheers,
    Ged

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->