Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Is there an easy way to clone an activity?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    MP44.2 Worcester, MA
    Posts
    281

    Default Is there an easy way to clone an activity?

    Hi all,

    I would like to take an existing activity and make slight modifications to it and not loose the original activity.

    Is there an easy way to clone an activity without editing the activity file?

    Fred

  2. #2

    Default

    Copy it and change the file name of the copy.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Parker, TX
    Posts
    93

    Default

    It depends upon what you want to change in the activity? what do you want to change?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Montreal, QC
    Posts
    17

    Default

    not only the activity file but also the service pattern that it uses and the player and AI traffic elements will all need to be set up with alternate names to avoid corrupting/conflicting with the original activity.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    MP44.2 Worcester, MA
    Posts
    281

    Default

    Thanks for the replies.

    In the past I have been successfully modifying the activity file.

    I was sort of hoping that I had overlooked a Clone Activity command buried some ware in TSRE5. I guess there is none.

    Fred

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    340

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by frliss View Post
    Hi all,

    I would like to take an existing activity and make slight modifications to it and not loose the original activity.

    Is there an easy way to clone an activity without editing the activity file?

    Fred
    This is what you do. I do this all the time. Create a new folder on your desktop or wherever you want. Title this Folder "MSTS Activity Storage". Of course you will have to create a separate Folder for Open Rails Exclusive Activities. Take your "Route" file and Copy and Paste to your "MSTS Activity Storage" folder. Naturally,you can do this to all your Route folders. With your Original Activity stored with the Route in this new folder you can modify your Activity to your hearts' content and know that you can simply bring back your original copy. You can do more but I dont want to overly complicate things at this point. Let me know how it works for you. Take Care Brian

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Location
    MP44.2 Worcester, MA
    Posts
    281

    Default

    Hi Brian,

    Thanks for the info. With some of the newer routes that method could take up quite a bit of storage. If I just save the Activities, Paths, Services, and Traffic folders that should be enough to recreate the activity since there are no modifications to the route itself.

    Fred

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    340

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by frliss View Post
    Hi Brian,

    Thanks for the info. With some of the newer routes that method could take up quite a bit of storage. If I just save the Activities, Paths, Services, and Traffic folders that should be enough to recreate the activity since there are no modifications to the route itself.

    Fred
    Sure you could. The only reason I suggested the "Routes" be included is that it would make it easier to "cross index" for what Route the Activity belongs to. Also,one more thing,you brought up an excellent point about storage,especially with Open Rails exclusive content. You could set your "Activity Storage" file on an External Hard Drive or even on another computer. Take Care. Brian

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lubec ME USA
    Posts
    378

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by motormaster532 View Post
    This is what you do. I do this all the time. Create a new folder on your desktop or wherever you want. Title this Folder "MSTS Activity Storage". Of course you will have to create a separate Folder for Open Rails Exclusive Activities. Take your "Route" file and Copy and Paste to your "MSTS Activity Storage" folder. Naturally, you can do this to all your Route folders. With your Original Activity stored with the Route in this new folder you can modify your Activity to your hearts' content and know that you can simply bring back your original copy. You can do more but I don't want to overly complicate things at this point. Let me know how it works for you. Take Care Brian
    That works as long as there are no changes to consists or trainsets. If you change any of those you will need to copy the "trains" folder as well.

    Jon

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    340

    Default

    Jon,thanks for your input. I think that perhaps I was a bit unclear as I did not want to overly complicate the procedure. When I copy the "Route" over to my new file "Activity Storage" I take for granted that it goes in as is, while I use the original copy to modify on my MSTS or TSRE Editors.A good analogy is that the stored "Route or Activity is sitting on a siding with the handbrake applied waiting to be swapped back to the main installation if desired. I have modified individual Activities several times over and sent them to the "Storage file but when prompted I save it seperately so that the same file may have 1,2,3 or more versions. I never had to run the Trains file over for a different or modified consist as I would do that on the MSTS or TSRE Editor when modifying the Activity. Thank you for your input. Take Care.Brian

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->