Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Usgs

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Odessa,TX
    Posts
    376

    Default Usgs

    Hi,
    We have thru USGS Map service downloaded for our new route all maps
    since a few date ago with no problem.
    Now today we again when to TNM Download V2.0
    side and have nothing but problem.
    We can get any Data for our new Route.
    Here is sequence..

    1) marked Elevation Products (3DEP)
    2) in subcategory box 1arc Dem.
    3) Choose a area on map and selected Search Products.
    4) In upper right side corner a box appears 0 data and no Data.
    We have tried different ways same thing.
    We even send E-Mail to USGS but no answer.

    Please anybody help!

    Thanks,

    Arno

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Pacific Time
    Posts
    964

    Default

    Not sure about this part of USGS, but I've had concerns with other things there and the contacts listed at the problem page have generally responded in 3 days to 6 weeks. Yes, wide "error bars". I guess that's just the way it is there.

  3. #3

    Default

    USGS works fine for me. And do the same steps you are doing sir.
    Todd
    Iowa Chicago and Eastern Mason City Sub

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville,, FL, USA.
    Posts
    3,897

    Default

    It has been a couple of weeks since I obtained any data from USGS but then it worked fine.
    Having said that, the downloaded files (I use the 1/3 arc-sec data) generally won't work
    with DEMEX unless I process them through VTBuilder first. After that things are okay.

    J. H. Sullivan
    Docent, C&TSRR

  5. #5

    Default

    I've given up on Demex. The terrain import feature from HGT files in TSRE is working well enough that I don't really need to worry about the USGS site anymore.

    Sent from my SM-G981U using Tapatalk

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville,, FL, USA.
    Posts
    3,897

    Default

    I don't find high enough resolution with .hgt data, so I will continue to use the USGS
    data and DEMEX as long as I can. Soon be going to Win-10 from Win-7 though and that
    might seal my fate.

    J. H. Sullivan

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Odessa,TX
    Posts
    376

    Default

    All You Trainsimmers!
    I have been in Hospital for over 6 weeks but my Son is working with my name
    what s O/K.
    I hope my health right now will better and I can be with all of you!



    Thanks for all you for all your reply's.


    FSSARNO

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    639

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by landnrailroader View Post
    I don't find high enough resolution with .hgt data, so I will continue to use the USGS
    data and DEMEX as long as I can. Soon be going to Win-10 from Win-7 though and that
    might seal my fate.
    Somewhere here or at ET someone posted more than one time an easy way to convert different geo data formats to .hgt. TSRE supports high resolution hgt files too. Just find the tutorial.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->