Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: Struggling with FTP

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New York, USA.
    Posts
    2,300

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gusthegator View Post
    I'll give that a try, not the best with coding
    Hi...

    Just the commands you have to type at the prompts - first - cd to the directory on your local machine with your file to be uploaded. Make sure your upload has that FILEID file with all your pertinent information - or they won’t know how to process it.

    Then - while following along with my first post.

    ftp ftp.trainsim.com
    anonymous
    cd incoming
    bin
    hash
    mput [your filename]
    quit

    Regards,
    Scott


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  2. #12

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scottb613 View Post
    Hi...

    Just the commands you have to type at the prompts - first - cd to the directory on your local machine with your file to be uploaded. Make sure your upload has that FILEID file with all your pertinent information - or they won’t know how to process it.

    Then - while following along with my first post.

    ftp ftp.trainsim.com
    anonymous
    cd incoming
    bin
    hash
    mput [your filename]
    quit

    Regards,
    Scott


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
    After pounding my head, realising I had to use CMD, I understand what to do. I'll do this when I get home from work tonight. Many thanks Scott.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New York, USA.
    Posts
    2,300

    Default

    Hi...

    Hah - you got this...

    In my first post - for testing - I placed my file to be uploaded in "C:\Users\scott" - which is the default directory for me when I launch a CMD Prompt. It keeps it as simple as possible. The commands you are typing are:

    bin - puts FTP transfer in Binary Mode - which is appropriate for a ZIP file.
    hash - just sends a "#" to your screen for every so many bytes transferred successfully - so you can see progress.
    mput - just pushes your file to the trainsim server - it will accept wildcards for file names - keep it simple and just type the complete name out.

    Regards,
    Scott

  4. #14

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scottb613 View Post
    Hi...

    Hah - you got this...

    In my first post - for testing - I placed my file to be uploaded in "C:\Users\scott" - which is the default directory for me when I launch a CMD Prompt. It keeps it as simple as possible. The commands you are typing are:

    bin - puts FTP transfer in Binary Mode - which is appropriate for a ZIP file.
    hash - just sends a "#" to your screen for every so many bytes transferred successfully - so you can see progress.
    mput - just pushes your file to the trainsim server - it will accept wildcards for file names - keep it simple and just type the complete name out.

    Regards,
    Scott
    Unfortunately, I got the "Connection closed by remote host" message: I guess the clock ran out or Nels stopped it manually. I'll try again tomorrow as I'm falling asleep typing this.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Pacific Time
    Posts
    987

    Default

    It's 0630 on Sunday and I'm checking this for some reason - and I learned something! Windows has a built-in ftp client. With browsers in general dropping support for ftp (the only one I'm sure has it, still, is Firefox), the command-line options is worth knowing about.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New York, USA.
    Posts
    2,300

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mikeebb View Post
    It's 0630 on Sunday and I'm checking this for some reason - and I learned something! Windows has a built-in ftp client. With browsers in general dropping support for ftp (the only one I'm sure has it, still, is Firefox), the command-line options is worth knowing about.
    Hi Mike,

    Back in the day - all we had was the command line.


    Regards,
    Scott

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New York, USA.
    Posts
    2,300

    Default

    Hi...

    Did you see the hash marks start scrolling across your screen after you "mput" the file ?

    You can copy your ftp session in the Command Window and paste it here so we can follow along - as I did in my first post.

    Regards,
    Scott

  8. #18

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scottb613 View Post
    Hi...

    Did you see the hash marks start scrolling across your screen after you "mput" the file ?

    You can copy your ftp session in the Command Window and paste it here so we can follow along - as I did in my first post.

    Regards,
    Scott
    It worked, and the file is on the site. Hah, what a relief.
    Last edited by gusthegator; 01-31-2021 at 03:41 PM.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New York, USA.
    Posts
    2,300

    Default

    Hi...

    Glad to hear...

    Regards,
    Scott

  10. #20

    Default

    Hi everyone

    Can Anyone Help Me how to upload files Larger Than 100 Mb Using FTP Trainsim in internet explorer

    I Drap & droped files , but also there is not happening ,

    Can Anyone Help me where / how to upload on FTP In internet explorer , it would be Really HELPFUL

    PLS ANYONE HELP ME!!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •