Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Ad overlay Covering The Home Page

  1. #1

    Default Ad overlay Covering The Home Page

    So what's up with this ad overlay that is now popping up when I access the site? It's on top of the home page. Anyone else getting it? Showed up late last night, still there when I just got on. Have to click the "x" marks the spot button to axe it.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Somewhere in Indiana near the Indianapolis Line
    Posts
    199

    Default

    Yes, still there. Just got the same thing when I logged in.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Clarion, PA
    Posts
    105

    Default

    Are you guys using Google Chrome? I was getting the same thing as well, plus on a site I go to for Polish Open Rails stuff and also at Railpictures dot net. It`s probably something with the ad settings in Google Chrome. I switched to Opera this morning and that seems to have taken care of the ad problem.
    Mark
    Last edited by crimsonfloyd; 02-19-2021 at 12:05 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, NSW, Australia
    Posts
    3,975

    Default

    It's not seen by Firefox.....but then I use an ad-blocker.
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    5,588

    Default

    Not visible on good old IE either... thank goodness.
    Vern.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,254

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by seagoon View Post
    It's not seen by Firefox.....but then I use an ad-blocker.
    Same here, use trackers, blockers, no scripts...all that stuff, also --- if it makes any difference -- 1st class membership.
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


  7. #7

    Default

    OK......I think I fixed it. Somehow my Goggle Chrome Ad Blocker got turned off. It's back on. Restarted my computer and it's gone. As I said, this happened the first time late last night. Also late last night, my entire Facebook went to super small text right before my eyes. I had to do a Ctrl + 0 command to reset it. So the two might be related. Security scan record for the past 24 hours says no badies either got in or tired to. I got apps that won't allow a update of any kind without informing and giving me the option of refusing it. The whole event might make for a interesting old school Twilight Zone episode.......

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Minnesota
    Posts
    1,501

    Default

    I've been getting pop-up ads the last couple days using the Samsung browser, which has never occured at this site before. I've seen them elsewhere, but never bothered with an ad blocker since it's such a rare occurence for me

  9. #9

    Default

    It's not fixed. Just called up the site and the nasty is back...... Well, as Northern Warrior said, regular IE has no issues. I'll just cross over and use it when I want to go to this site.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK.
    Posts
    6,944

    Default

    Don't see anything like it using the Edge browser.
    Beer is not a matter of life or death, it is much more serious than that.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->