Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 20

Thread: New version of WorldFileHacker available

  1. #1

    Default New version of WorldFileHacker available

    It's been a couple years since I updated WFH, but there's now a new version available at DigitalRails.com for a $10 donation.

    Updates in Version 3 include:

    * Automatic removal of ViewDB's
    * Ability to select alternate content locations as opposed to only the MSTS folder located in the registry
    * Support for multiple placement files (e.g. one for berms, one for stations, one for power lines, etc...)
    * Ability to remove all companion objects referenced in a placement file

    Used in conjunction with TSRE, it's no longer necessary to use the MSTS-RE to perform a TDB rebuild after removing interactives, as the AutoFix function in TSRE will clean up TDB entries that no longer have a corresponding W file entry.
    Last edited by eolesen; 02-26-2021 at 02:37 AM.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lubec ME USA
    Posts
    409

    Default

    What is a "viewDB"?

  3. #3

    Default

    It was a way for MSTS to load some areas of a tile before the rest of the tile back in the days of Windows XP with Pentium and lower chipsets.

    Neither OpenRails or TSRE need it, nor do MSTS users on modern CPU's.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    646

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eolesen View Post
    Used in conjunction with TSRE, it's no longer necessary to use the MSTS-RE to perform a TDB rebuild after removing interactives, as the AutoFix function in TSRE will clean up TDB entries that no longer have a corresponding W file entry.
    I don't know if you know, but you can remove objects using TSRE too.
    You can define a set of objects to remove from a route in settings.txt, for example:
    objectsToRemove = signal:speedpost
    And with loadAllWFiles and autoFix it will remove all specified objects from the route.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New York, USA.
    Posts
    2,095

    Default New version of WorldFileHacker available

    Quote Originally Posted by GokuMK View Post
    I don't know if you know, but you can remove objects using TSRE too.
    You can define a set of objects to remove from a route in settings.txt, for example:
    objectsToRemove = signal:speedpost
    And with loadAllWFiles and autoFix it will remove all specified objects from the route.
    Hi Goku,

    Good to know as well - thank you !

    If I want to delete a large number of populated tiles from a route - will AutoFix do the cleanup removing all the associated objects on said tile ?

    Regards,
    Scott


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by scottb613 View Post
    Hi Goku,
    If I want to delete a large number of populated tiles from a route - will AutoFix do the cleanup removing all the associated objects on said tile ?
    My experience has that TSRE leaves vectors in the TDB even if the track section isn't present, but I'm curious to see Goku's response.

    AutoFix seems to go after TrItems when the corresponding declaration in the W file is missing. I've had vectors remain without track present, so my guess is that you'd wind up with a bunch of yellow lines and no way to delete them short of a manual update.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2015
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    646

    Default

    AutoFix won't remove not referenced vectors, because sometimes they are useful and intended to be this way.

    But you can easily remove huge amounts of objects. Select terrain patches -> right click -> select objects -> delete.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New York, USA.
    Posts
    2,095

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eolesen View Post
    My experience has that TSRE leaves vectors in the TDB even if the track section isn't present, but I'm curious to see Goku's response.

    AutoFix seems to go after TrItems when the corresponding declaration in the W file is missing. I've had vectors remain without track present, so my guess is that you'd wind up with a bunch of yellow lines and no way to delete them short of a manual update.
    Hi Eric,

    Thanks.

    Regards,
    Scott

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Location
    New York, USA.
    Posts
    2,095

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GokuMK View Post
    AutoFix won't remove not referenced vectors, because sometimes they are useful and intended to be this way.

    But you can easily remove huge amounts of objects. Select terrain patches -> right click -> select objects -> delete.
    Hi Eric/Goku,

    Thank you both. Yeah - someone had mentioned it should be possible with RouteRiter - they said sever all road and track connections crossing tile boundaries in the block of tiles you want to delete - remove the tiles - then use RR/TSUTILS CLRDB to clean up the track and road database. I haven't tried it yet - but it's nice to know there are options.

    Appreciate the responses...

    Regards,
    Scott

  10. #10

    Default

    Are you looking to do a tile or two at a time? I've been working on a nuclear option to remove track and/or roads...

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->