Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: Problem installing Trainsimulations routes

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Gandangara Estate, Sutherland Shire. N.S.W, Australia.
    Posts
    1,575

    Default Problem installing Trainsimulations routes

    Hi

    I hope this is the correct forum for this problem.

    For a Whole lot of reasons I modified my system including changing the install drive for OR
    and MSTS, everything is work[ng well except that trainsimulation is trying to install to a drive
    that no longer exists.


    I have attached a pic of the install path to Drive H:

    Is there some way to fix this?

    Cheers

    Daniel
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Daniel - Sydney (wishing I was in Townsville)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,243

    Default

    Hi Daniel,
    Once you've installed one of Trainsimulation's routes and loaded it into the Open Rails profile list, it will use that location to install subsequent routes.

    If any are present, I suggest you try removing your previous TSN routes from the Open Rails list (if you're changing their location, you'll need to do that, anyway!). Use the Options > Content procedure.

    You can check them in the Registry, at this address : HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\OpenRails\ORTS\Folders

    There is a 'dirty' way to get the route installed where you want, but as I don't know your level of Registry expertise, I will not publicly post it!

    Cheers,
    Ged

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Doreen, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    6,875

    Default

    Hi Daniel,

    If you search the registry for "Mullan pass", you can change the entry to whatever you need.

    You MUST reboot after making changes to the registry.
    Cheers
    Derek

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Gandangara Estate, Sutherland Shire. N.S.W, Australia.
    Posts
    1,575

    Default

    Hi Ged and Derek,

    thanks for your advice, I will give it a go, all content is backed up
    and I will backup the registry before I alter it.

    Regards

    Daniel
    Daniel - Sydney (wishing I was in Townsville)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Gandangara Estate, Sutherland Shire. N.S.W, Australia.
    Posts
    1,575

    Default

    Hi again guys

    I decided to start the process by making sure I had an exact list
    of events along the way to the complete stop of the install process.

    So I started with an install by running the exe file.

    This time it worked, the path changed to D:Trainsimulations folder, which was created during the install.

    It is now working well.

    BTW I installed Mullen Pass in the MSTS installation and that works also.

    BTW I only use OR and because I have a space issue I don't want to install
    duplicate files, but I guess I have to.

    Cheers

    Daniel
    Daniel - Sydney (wishing I was in Townsville)

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Doreen, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    6,875

    Default

    >BTW I installed Mullen Pass in the MSTS installation and that works also.

    TS routes must all be separated in their own folder structure as they use dds files not .s files.
    You just stuffed all of your MSTS routes!!
    Cheers
    Derek

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Gandangara Estate, Sutherland Shire. N.S.W, Australia.
    Posts
    1,575

    Default

    Hi Derek

    I always run a backup copy of the installation then when I have
    made the changes I test with a relevant item, in the case of
    adding routes run WP3 Feather River WP3 and so far I have had
    no problems but today I ran NEC4 and all the areas around the
    tracks are grey.

    I then ran NEC4 through RoutrRiter and it replaced a lot of missing DDS
    files and NEC looks good again.

    Thanks for the heads up, I will now check all routes and if there is a problem,
    which I am certain there will be, I will run them through RR and see what happens,
    keep your fingers crossed.

    Regards

    Danie
    Daniel - Sydney (wishing I was in Townsville)

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Gandangara Estate, Sutherland Shire. N.S.W, Australia.
    Posts
    1,575

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by derekmorton View Post
    >BTW I installed Mullen Pass in the MSTS installation and that works also.

    TS routes must all be separated in their own folder structure as they use dds files not .s files.
    You just stuffed all of your MSTS routes!!
    Hi Derek,

    this may or may not be related to your comments but the OR Manual says "Open Rails is capable of loading both ACE and DDS textures. If only one of the two is present, it is loaded. If both are present, the ACE texture is loaded unless this option has been selected.

    I get the same result of grey areas either way. Why is that.

    Regards

    Daniel
    Daniel - Sydney (wishing I was in Townsville)

  9. #9

    Default

    Hi Daniel,

    If you can please attach the Open Rails log with your request for assistance will help solve the problem.

    regards,
    ............Vince ..............
    ...... Author NECv4 .......
    .... LIRR BUILD PHOTOS ....
    .............LIRR VIDEO.............
    ...... Eschew Obsfucation ......

    On the The Statue of Liberty in New York Harbor there is a Tablet. On it is written:
    "Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free,
    the wretched refuse of your teeming shore, send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me,
    I lift my lamp beside the golden door!"

  10. #10

    Default

    Sounds like your global shapes has been overwritten when you installed Mullens. Because those shapes look for dds explicitly, the option in ORTS to select ace or dds won't work.

    You should consider restoring Global from a backup and reinstalling Mullens to its own location. It's in the installation instructions...

    Sent from my SM-G981U using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->