Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Replacing multiple broken cars in a consist

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    CSX Freemont Secondary
    Posts
    339

    Default Replacing multiple broken cars in a consist

    I was wondering if this consist editor had a way to replace the same type of broken, or missing cars at once in a consist. For example if you were missing a coal car and the consist had that same coal car 80 times, you would replace the missing car and would replace it in all referenced locations.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    4,708

    Default

    Yes.
    1. Select Consist.
    2. In "Consist Units" list Select unit to be replaced
    3. In Eng List 1 or 2 (Don't know why these are called "Eng" lists as they include WAGs also.) select the replacement unit.
    4. From Menu line select "Replace" then select "All units in selected Consist"
    5. Save

    FYI an alternate method would be in step 2 to select the unit to be replaced by clicking it in the graphic view of the consist.
    Last edited by crstagg; 03-16-2021 at 09:45 PM.
    Charles

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    CSX Freemont Secondary
    Posts
    339

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crstagg View Post
    Yes.
    1. Select Consist.
    2. In "Consist Units" list Select unit to be replaced
    3. In Eng List 1 or 2 (Don't know why these are called "Eng" lists as they include WAGs also.) select the replacement unit.
    4. From Menu line select "Replace" then select "All units in selected Consist"
    5. Save

    FYI an alternate method would be in step 2 to select the unit to be replaced by clicking it in the graphic view of the consist.
    Thanks, this worked. I also wonder if there is a way to view by only Broken Activity Loose Consists

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    4,708

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by csx8851 View Post
    Thanks, this worked. I also wonder if there is a way to view by only Broken Activity Loose Consists

    Not sure what you mean by "view by only".
    Loose Consists can only be viewed one consist at a time.
    But, here is how to view loose consists:
    1. In the Consist list, locate the "Show" line, click on"Consists"
    2. There are two choices: "Consists" and "Activity Consists" choose "Activity Consists"
    3. The "Filter" Line will be replaced with Two Lines "Route" and"Activity" first choose which route to ues.
    4. Then Choose which activity. If there are no Loose Consists in the activity the section below will be blank . Choose another Activity.
    5. Select another Activity. Select a Loose Consist too view.
    6. Edit Broken items same as above.
    Charles

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    CSX Freemont Secondary
    Posts
    339

    Default

    Ah, what I meant was if there was a way to filter by only the broken loose consists. Just tried out what you mentioned and it worked. Thanks again

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    4,708

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by csx8851 View Post
    Ah, what I meant was if there was a way to filter by only the broken loose consists. Just tried out what you mentioned and it worked. Thanks again
    No, there is not one with TSRE. TSRE shows Loose Consist by Loose Consist, BUT there are other Consist Editors that display by Activity. Both ConBuilder and Convoi have Activity testing and editing tools.

    ConBuilder's testing tool will give you a List of all items missing from all Loose Consists in a selected Activity. Conbuilder's Loose Consist editor shows all the Loose Consists from a selected Activity and highlights the missing items. Then lets you edit, replacing individually or replacing all occurrences.

    Convoi presents a list of all items used in loose consists a selected Activity with the missing items highlighted. Each item is only listed once although it may have been used multiple times in a loose consist or used in different consists.
    Charles

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    CSX Freemont Secondary
    Posts
    339

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crstagg View Post
    No, there is not one with TSRE. TSRE shows Loose Consist by Loose Consist, BUT there are other Consist Editors that display by Activity. Both ConBuilder and Convoi have Activity testing and editing tools.

    ConBuilder's testing tool will give you a List of all items missing from all Loose Consists in a selected Activity. Conbuilder's Loose Consist editor shows all the Loose Consists from a selected Activity and highlights the missing items. Then lets you edit, replacing individually or replacing all occurrences.

    Convoi presents a list of all items used in loose consists a selected Activity with the missing items highlighted. Each item is only listed once although it may have been used multiple times in a loose consist or used in different consists.
    Very interesting, I never knew those applications had those features. I will check these out. Thank you very much!

  8. #8

    Default

    You can view broken consists in TSRE that are stand alone consists, but not broken consists part of activities.
    Christopher

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    4,708

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by conductorchris View Post
    You can view broken consists in TSRE that are stand alone consists, but not broken consists part of activities.
    Christopher
    NOT true. See post #4 for procedure to see activity loose consists with or without broken items.
    Charles

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->