Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 36

Thread: Ontario Northland

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brockville, ON, CA
    Posts
    2,799

    Default Ontario Northland

    Here are a few shot from an Ontario Northland route I first laid the tracks for back in October 2011. The route is set in the early 1960s and will be about 46 miles long when complete. I have 8 miles completely finished now, 2 miles in each direction of Porquis Junction, ON.

    Train 50 arrives in Porquis Junction from Timmins in late evening.



    Train 151 waits for 50 to pick up a couple of cars they brought down from Cochrane before heading back to Timmins for their last run of the day.



    On a cold winter morning the crew of Train 314 wait in the Welsh Yard for what will become Train 414, the Paper Train to enter they yard from Iroquois Falls before heading down the branch themselves.





    Paul :-)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Location
    north of United States
    Posts
    1,427

    Default

    Paul-- you sure did a good job working on this route and look forward to get the download when it's available. I know it takes time to work on this route but it's worth at the end to get the download route.

    John

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2019
    Location
    Ontario
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Exciting news, looks great so far well done!

  4. #4

    Default

    It's always a good day when a new Paul Charland route is announced. I will love to see the progress on this!
    Nick - Creator of the Virtual Railroading Review Show

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brockville, ON, CA
    Posts
    2,799

    Default

    I might be screwed. I've been using a windows 7 desktop to do all my work seeing and most of my editing and imaging programs don't work on Windows 10. When they stopped supporting Windows 7 I unplugged it from the internet and bought this laptop to go online with. When I wanted to post something made on the 7 machine I've been using an external hard drive to move the file to this computer.

    This morning when I turned it on it appeared to be starting normally, but then hit this black screen and eventually a cursor appeared... but nothing else. After a few minutes I shut it down. Turned it back on and hit F8 to get into Safe Mode but that never happened either, just the black screen and moveable mouse cursor.

    I've taken it to the shop and hope they can get it into Safe Mode and go to the restore point that was made Sunday evening.

    I do have the ONR power and rolling stock I've made for the route on this machine and uploaded to Dropbox for testing, but hadn't uploaded a beta for the route, so might be screwed.

    Paul

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brockville, ON, CA
    Posts
    2,799

    Default

    I have my computer back and it's working fine. Strange thing is the paths to the routes and other files in Open Rail were broken so I had to reinstall it. The only other thing I've found (so far) is that when I plug my external hard drive into it it's not recognized in the "send to" dropdown menu and I have to copy the file and manually paste it into Drive: G.

    Paul :-)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,423

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by charland View Post
    I have my computer back and it's working fine. Strange thing is the paths to the routes and other files in Open Rail were broken so I had to reinstall it. The only other thing I've found (so far) is that when I plug my external hard drive into it it's not recognized in the "send to" dropdown menu and I have to copy the file and manually paste it into Drive: G.

    Paul :-)
    Paul, I believe there is a method to add the drive to the "send to" context menu, although I don't remember the exact procedure...I do remember performing it in the past...***WARNING***...I only play a computer expert in the virtual world...in real life I am a provider of quality nutz to squirrels in the park. So happy you got the machine back, with most everything still intact...route looks to be of your usual awesome quality. Gerry
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


  8. #8

    Default

    Here's a master list of all Shays constructed:
    http://www.gearedsteam.com/shay/master_list.htm
    The 5th column of he list indicates what gauge the engine was when it was delivered (although in some cases they were later converted to a different gauge). Standard gauge appears most often. Other popular gauges were 42" 36" and 30". A few wider than standard gauge, too.

  9. #9

    Default

    hell, I got disoriented looking thru the list. Feels more like those sizes are diameter rather than gauge.
    Hell I can't even recall what standard gauge is anymore 4' 8.5" = 56.5" jumps at my O'l memory bank
    I do recall some of the old timers when I just started out calling shays what's now NG being called standard from the mfd
    all the while not fitting a standard gauge rail of our time.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brockville, ON, CA
    Posts
    2,799

    Default

    No, the Shay was standard gauge, and Ontario Northland never owned any narrow gauge track or equipment that I've ever heard.

    The is the Shay after it was retired, still sits in a park in Iroquois Falls.



    Paul :-)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->