Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Cascade Crossing error

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    250

    Default Cascade Crossing error

    SPai 40 auto.con for actives longhaul ai 2 3 8,down the grade .Rout-riter posts service files not found , but in actives it is ok?is there a fix fo this error?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,249

    Default

    Hi,
    If you are running Cascades Crossing v1.2, neither Route_Riter nor MSTS_ActMan report any missing files. MSTS and Open Rails, likewise, don't report any errors/warnings, although the Player locomotive is shown as 'UNKNOWN' in MSTS, but I haven't found the cause. It doesn't stop it running.

    Which version of Route_Riter are you using?
    Where is MSTS installed?
    Have you made modifications to any files?

    Cheers,
    Ged

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    250

    Default

    slipperman; rout_riter V7.6, as of this time MSTS is on C drive, open rails also. The only mods to MSTS are Cascades Crossing and the addition of its railroad items all else is stock. Rout_riter's only error file is this con file for the service as specified above.

    John

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    4,685

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slipperman View Post
    Hi,
    If you are running Cascades Crossing v1.2, neither Route_Riter nor MSTS_ActMan report any missing files. MSTS and Open Rails, likewise, don't report any errors/warnings, although the Player locomotive is shown as 'UNKNOWN' in MSTS, but I haven't found the cause. It doesn't stop it running.

    Which version of Route_Riter are you using?
    Where is MSTS installed?
    Have you made modifications to any files?

    Cheers,
    Ged
    UNKNOWN is caused by a case difference in one of the following: the file name, either of the Wagon lines or the Engine line.
    Remember in MSTS Dash9 does not equal DASH9.
    Charles

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,249

    Default

    Hi Charles,
    Thanks, mate, but I appreciate that is the usual cause of "UNKNOWN" - it's one of the checks I included in MSTS_ActMan! Unless I'm going blind, I couldn't see any problem with the player loco's .eng file or consist!! I just revisited it and still can't see anything wrong; I altered the case of one character in the Engine ( value and ActMan reported it (as expected!).

    It was a puzzle, but I've solved it! The service file shows : Train_Config ( "SP 50 Lumber" ) but the actual consist name is : sp 50 lumber and the entry in the consist file is : TrainCfg ( "sp 50 lumber". Changing the service file entry to lower case solved the "UNKNOWN" problem.

    Sorry, bigjohn for the diversion - I know it doesn't help you. MSTS may be on the C: drive, but in exactly which folder?

    Cheers,
    Ged

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    250

    Default

    Ged; Microsoft games (this will soon change to another drive), long haul ai 3 SRV , down the grade ai 2.SRV.
    the train_config( "sp ai 40 auto" ) ai tracfic .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    250

    Default

    Well, I found the problem a stupid period out of place. was (sp ai 40 auto .con) should have been (sp ai 40 auto.con)very hard to find.
    Thank You all for the help
    bigjohn

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,249

    Default

    Hi John,
    I'm pleased that you've got it sorted, but I'm not certain that was the cause of your problem!
    Service 'down the grade ai 2' has : Train_Config ( "SP AI 40 Auto " ), and consist sp ai 40 auto .con has : TrainCfg ( "sp ai 40 auto "
    Neither my MSTS nor Open Rails reports any problem with that consist.

    Cheers,
    Ged

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,276

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
    Well, I found the problem a stupid period out of place. was (sp ai 40 auto .con) should have been (sp ai 40 auto.con)very hard to find.
    Thank You all for the help
    bigjohn
    The extra space before the ".con" is one of the most common errors found in MSTS activity files. Usually you will have to correct two files, the consist file and also the service file the consist appears in. I've found ( as Ged mentions ) that it is rarely the actual problem, if left uncorrected ---- because both the consist and service file have the same mistake...and it is usually contained within quotes "......". Fixing the consist file only will cause an error because the service file is still looking for an extra space in the name of the consist.
    Last edited by R. Steele; 04-26-2021 at 11:39 AM.
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    250

    Default

    R.Steele; that is right on the head, I found that item in the service file, all is good now. thank god for actman

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->