Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Cascade Crossing error

Hybrid View

Previous Post Previous Post   Next Post Next Post
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    277

    Default Cascade Crossing error

    SPai 40 auto.con for actives longhaul ai 2 3 8,down the grade .Rout-riter posts service files not found , but in actives it is ok?is there a fix fo this error?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,267

    Default

    Hi,
    If you are running Cascades Crossing v1.2, neither Route_Riter nor MSTS_ActMan report any missing files. MSTS and Open Rails, likewise, don't report any errors/warnings, although the Player locomotive is shown as 'UNKNOWN' in MSTS, but I haven't found the cause. It doesn't stop it running.

    Which version of Route_Riter are you using?
    Where is MSTS installed?
    Have you made modifications to any files?

    Cheers,
    Ged

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    277

    Default

    slipperman; rout_riter V7.6, as of this time MSTS is on C drive, open rails also. The only mods to MSTS are Cascades Crossing and the addition of its railroad items all else is stock. Rout_riter's only error file is this con file for the service as specified above.

    John

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    4,697

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slipperman View Post
    Hi,
    If you are running Cascades Crossing v1.2, neither Route_Riter nor MSTS_ActMan report any missing files. MSTS and Open Rails, likewise, don't report any errors/warnings, although the Player locomotive is shown as 'UNKNOWN' in MSTS, but I haven't found the cause. It doesn't stop it running.

    Which version of Route_Riter are you using?
    Where is MSTS installed?
    Have you made modifications to any files?

    Cheers,
    Ged
    UNKNOWN is caused by a case difference in one of the following: the file name, either of the Wagon lines or the Engine line.
    Remember in MSTS Dash9 does not equal DASH9.
    Charles

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,267

    Default

    Hi Charles,
    Thanks, mate, but I appreciate that is the usual cause of "UNKNOWN" - it's one of the checks I included in MSTS_ActMan! Unless I'm going blind, I couldn't see any problem with the player loco's .eng file or consist!! I just revisited it and still can't see anything wrong; I altered the case of one character in the Engine ( value and ActMan reported it (as expected!).

    It was a puzzle, but I've solved it! The service file shows : Train_Config ( "SP 50 Lumber" ) but the actual consist name is : sp 50 lumber and the entry in the consist file is : TrainCfg ( "sp 50 lumber". Changing the service file entry to lower case solved the "UNKNOWN" problem.

    Sorry, bigjohn for the diversion - I know it doesn't help you. MSTS may be on the C: drive, but in exactly which folder?

    Cheers,
    Ged

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    277

    Default

    Ged; Microsoft games (this will soon change to another drive), long haul ai 3 SRV , down the grade ai 2.SRV.
    the train_config( "sp ai 40 auto" ) ai tracfic .

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    277

    Default

    Well, I found the problem a stupid period out of place. was (sp ai 40 auto .con) should have been (sp ai 40 auto.con)very hard to find.
    Thank You all for the help
    bigjohn

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    277

    Default

    Charles;
    I finally got MSTS to work, I took out 45 engines MSTS did not like, MSTS ActMan, MSTS Check, etc. worked to help in this . 15 total hr.'s .What a relief. Now to get Open rails to start.
    thank you all for the great help
    John

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->