Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 26

Thread: TS Mullan Pass Expantion Pack

  1. #11

    Default

    Was not aware of this bug. Never happened to me before.
    Thank you for the info.
    I think these activites are unplayable for me i guess.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    719

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gammaray84 View Post
    Was not aware of this bug. Never happened to me before.
    Thank you for the info.
    I think these activites are unplayable for me i guess.

    Why so? just make sure that you activate the derail switch and all will be well.
    Dell Desktop. Intel i5 3.3 CPU. 8GB RAM. Nvidia GTX 1050Ti 4GB graphics. Windows Pro 64bit. RailDriver. Partridge in a pear tree...

  3. #13

    Default

    I would if i knew what key it is.
    It looks like i am missing someting.

    How do i activate derail switch?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW MO
    Posts
    551

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by gammaray84 View Post
    How do i activate derail switch?
    It's a switch isn't it? What does G do? Or maybe Alt-left click.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Post Falls, ID
    Posts
    1,106

    Default

    G to throw next switch (or derail) ahead of train. Shift+G to throw next switch (or derail) BEHIND train. Or as rdayt said, Alt+Left Click on the switch or derail itself.
    ~Sean Kelly~

    MRL Mullan Pass for ORTS
    https://www.trainsimulations.net/mullanpass

  6. #16

    Default

    Yes Alt + Left click works

    Thank you all for you info. Somehow i was not aware of this in Open Rails until today. Thas why i was confused.
    About the derail bug, yes i understand why it is on low priority list. I do remember that OR not supporting derailment, but somehow it does?
    In the manual it says "MSTS triggers for derailment are currently not managed by OR", but in this case this is ignored? I am guessing couse of this route built for OR?

    Anyway, thank you all very much.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Doreen, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    7,003

    Default

    Ho Rok,

    We have not got you there yet.
    Its NOT a bug, derail devices exist in the real world.
    Shunters/switchmen have to disable them in the real world, I still my key for the Victorian railways Scotch block as they were called.
    Get used to them they have been in a route for 16 years.
    Cheers
    Derek

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Post Falls, ID
    Posts
    1,106

    Default

    In my opinion there is a bug here, not specific to derails, but rather to the way OR handles running through an improperly-lined switch in general, and the OP's video shows it. I would think that what OR SHOULD consistently do is either stop your train immediately when it hits the improperly lined switch points (similar to when you hit a bumper or end of track), or it should force the switch points over and report that the switch has been damaged. Teleporting the train forward, backwards, sideways onto to another track, or flipping the consist direction entirely (I've experienced all of those) do not seem like viable solutions to me, and are far from prototypical
    ~Sean Kelly~

    MRL Mullan Pass for ORTS
    https://www.trainsimulations.net/mullanpass

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Doreen, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    7,003

    Default

    Hi Sean,

    Yes, badly worded on my part.

    There is a bug in the handling of the derail device.
    Cheers
    Derek

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,416

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PerryPlatypus View Post
    In my opinion there is a bug here, not specific to derails, but rather to the way OR handles running through an improperly-lined switch in general, and the OP's video shows it. I would think that what OR SHOULD consistently do is either stop your train immediately when it hits the improperly lined switch points (similar to when you hit a bumper or end of track), or it should force the switch points over and report that the switch has been damaged. Teleporting the train forward, backwards, sideways onto to another track, or flipping the consist direction entirely (I've experienced all of those) do not seem like viable solutions to me, and are far from prototypical
    Exactly. That is what I meant by using the "bug" term in my post. In some older MSTS routes where there is a derail device, the car will roll right through it ( GM&O Springfield Switch as an example )...because it's just a shape file in the route that does not behave like an actual derail...while in the Mullan -- made for OR -- it is an interactive ( is that the correct term? I'm not a route builder )
    Last edited by R. Steele; 06-26-2021 at 06:41 PM.
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->