Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Windows 10 o/s broken

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Stalinist,broke United Kingdom (Hey buddy,can you spare �1.3 trillion?))
    Posts
    2,218

    Default Windows 10 o/s broken

    After my WIN 10 laptop had its o/s automatically updated the other day,it will not let me log in,so is useless.I am told the o/s was broken during the updating process.
    Does any one know how to sort it ?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    5,699

    Default

    I would say a Windows reset but if it won't let you log in, that might not be possible to reach.

    Is it possible to start in safe mode?

    Assuming you don't have a Win 10 CD or DVD (who does?!) I wonder how you might access the Restore partition on the HD.

    Of course all those options are pretty drastic and likely result in a loss of some if not all of your stored data.
    Vern.

  3. #3

    Default

    it is likely a MSVCRT.DLL Issue

    likely you need C++ Runtimes

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brockville, ON, CA
    Posts
    2,798

    Default

    A few months ago I turned my Windows 7 machine off while it was still in the middle of shutting down, the next morning it wouldn't start up. I took it to my local computer shop and they had it running in an hour. You might want to give that a try, they probably have a start-up CD and access to information the average Google search won't bring up about the flaws in the last update and how to work around them.

    Paul :-)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Stalinist,broke United Kingdom (Hey buddy,can you spare �1.3 trillion?))
    Posts
    2,218

    Default

    Thank you very much for the replies,I think I shall have to bite the bullet and fork out £60 (one hour's charge) to get it going again.I do not keep any data on it except some Bridge (card game) software.it is just to browse the internet.It is secondhand but works fine for what I want.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Brockville, ON, CA
    Posts
    2,798

    Default

    When they fixed my computer it cost $50 Canadian.

    Paul :-)

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Pacific Time
    Posts
    986

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NorthernWarrior View Post
    I would say a Windows reset but if it won't let you log in, that might not be possible to reach.

    Is it possible to start in safe mode?

    Assuming you don't have a Win 10 CD or DVD (who does?!) I wonder how you might access the Restore partition on the HD.

    Of course all those options are pretty drastic and likely result in a loss of some if not all of your stored data.
    If it won't start up at all, trying (restarting) 3 times will often drop it into the Recovery Environment where you can tweak things and reinstall. Depending on what went wrong, though, you might have to do a clean install which would nuke all of your content & applications.

    With another computer, you can always download a fresh copy of Windows to a USB stick or ISO for burning to a DVD using the MS Media Creation Tool. You could then do a clean reinstall. If you're registered through a Microsoft Account, the clean install should reactivate automatically; if not, you might need to negotiate with the activation bot on the phone.

    If you originally installed Win10 as an upgrade form 7, did you keep your Win7 disks and serial number? If Win10 refuses to activate you may need to use your Win7 serial number.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Stalinist,broke United Kingdom (Hey buddy,can you spare �1.3 trillion?))
    Posts
    2,218

    Default

    Thank you for all the replies,I had a new SSD HD installed,not too dear and much cheaper than a new laptop.I found a very helpful computer guy locally.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->