Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Communicating with the external dispatcher for Run8

Default Communicating with the external dispatcher for Run8

Does anyone know offhand what the port number is? Since I'm using C# now I may copy and paste that and see if ground control and Major Tom can connect

https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/dot...-code-examples

Thanks

Sean

Never mind port 6813 appears as a port to avoid in TSCAD manual, so I take it that's the one.

Thanks

Sean

Then again it could be 15191 as I look deeper at a change log note. The later sounds more like it.

Thanks

Sean

Are you referring to "External Dispatcher"?? I've been using for several months now and I don't see any reference to a "port" number. My External Dispatcher is running on the same computer as Run8 and I needed to merely click the "This Computer" button on the config screen. If Run8 is on another computer there is a field to enter it's IP number. (or perhaps I'm mis-understanding)

A searched the PDF manual for "port" and found nothing.

It's a communication port (similar to what you connect to when you are logging into ta server). The host can change the port if it's running multiple routes. The option external dispatcher opens the communication to a port that I believe is port 15191. Back several years ago the port was changed from 6813 due to a splitting of the routes/blocks or something like that. I barely recalled it happening until I started searching online at lunch today.

The two things I need to know are the port and the protocol. So now that I'm using C# for other projects and it's .net I'm hoping to get some information. The ED server I believe would be the game and it will host ED client(s) once the port is open. This could lead to the programming of an AI dispatcher in C# for a new version of RTS.

Thanks

Sean
    Last edited by SurvivorSean; 07-15-2021 at 09:55 PM. Reason: port and protocol for Winsock