Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Multiple Traffic Patterns?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    India
    Posts
    211

    Default Multiple Traffic Patterns?

    Greetings, All!

    I was thinking that can we add more than one traffic pattern (trf) in an activity? If yes, how to do so? If no, then why?


    Thanks in advance.

    Regards,
    Ashraf.
    PC Specs :- Intel Core2Duo [email protected] GHz, Nvidia Geforce GT 710 1GB, Samsung 4GB DDR2 RAM, Seagate 500GB HDD..
    Rail Fan & MSTS Fan.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,420

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ashraf Ahmed Khan View Post
    Greetings, All!

    I was thinking that can we add more than one traffic pattern (trf) in an activity? If yes, how to do so? If no, then why?


    Thanks in advance.

    Regards,
    Ashraf.
    There is only one Traffic Definition per activity. However, that definition can have as many "Service Definitions" ( AI Traffic ) as you wish, route and complexities allowing. They can all have different paths, or share paths...choice is yours.

    You can use the MSTS Activity Editor, the TSRE Activity Editor to add and configure traffic. You can also use an exisiting activity file and use that as a template...editing the file to suit your requirements, adding traffic, etc. ---- all this can be done with a suitable editor, such as ConText, Notepad++ or some other editor of your choice.

    Good place for activity tutoritals and activity manuals >>> https://msts.steam4me.net/tutorials/...tml#activities
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    India
    Posts
    211

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by R. Steele View Post
    There is only one Traffic Definition per activity. However, that definition can have as many "Service Definitions" ( AI Traffic ) as you wish, route and complexities allowing. They can all have different paths, or share paths...choice is yours.

    You can use the MSTS Activity Editor, the TSRE Activity Editor to add and configure traffic. You can also use an exisiting activity file and use that as a template...editing the file to suit your requirements, adding traffic, etc. ---- all this can be done with a suitable editor, such as ConText, Notepad++ or some other editor of your choice.

    Good place for activity tutoritals and activity manuals >>> https://msts.steam4me.net/tutorials/...tml#activities
    Thanks a lot, Sir. Doubts cleared.
    PC Specs :- Intel Core2Duo [email protected] GHz, Nvidia Geforce GT 710 1GB, Samsung 4GB DDR2 RAM, Seagate 500GB HDD..
    Rail Fan & MSTS Fan.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    New York
    Posts
    366

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by R. Steele View Post
    There is only one Traffic Definition per activity. However, that definition can have as many "Service Definitions" ( AI Traffic ) as you wish, route and complexities allowing. They can all have different paths, or share paths...choice is yours.

    You can use the MSTS Activity Editor, the TSRE Activity Editor to add and configure traffic. You can also use an exisiting activity file and use that as a template...editing the file to suit your requirements, adding traffic, etc. ---- all this can be done with a suitable editor, such as ConText, Notepad++ or some other editor of your choice.

    Good place for activity tutoritals and activity manuals >>> https://msts.steam4me.net/tutorials/...tml#activities
    I would just like to add that it would be worth it to SAVE any Activity that you have used as a template in another file.Example: Create a seperate File on your Desktop and call it what you will. I call mine "Activity Storage",then copy the "Route" into this file. By doing this you have both the unedited and edited Activity or Activities that you can swap out as you desire. Brian

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Location
    India
    Posts
    211

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by motormaster532 View Post
    I would just like to add that it would be worth it to SAVE any Activity that you have used as a template in another file.Example: Create a seperate File on your Desktop and call it what you will. I call mine "Activity Storage",then copy the "Route" into this file. By doing this you have both the unedited and edited Activity or Activities that you can swap out as you desire. Brian
    Thanks a lot, Sir. This is interesting.
    PC Specs :- Intel Core2Duo [email protected] GHz, Nvidia Geforce GT 710 1GB, Samsung 4GB DDR2 RAM, Seagate 500GB HDD..
    Rail Fan & MSTS Fan.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,420

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by motormaster532 View Post
    I would just like to add that it would be worth it to SAVE any Activity that you have used as a template in another file.Example: Create a seperate File on your Desktop and call it what you will. I call mine "Activity Storage",then copy the "Route" into this file. By doing this you have both the unedited and edited Activity or Activities that you can swap out as you desire. Brian
    Yes good point, keep mine in a work folder for producing activitiesl.

    You will need to use the OR trackviewer to construct and modify existing paths.

    My template activity has no Activity Objects ( "Loose Consists" ) in it. I use an Activity Generator Template ( if there is one available for the route ) to make a dummy activity loaded with stock. Then I copy and paste the "Activity Objects" portion onto the end of my template....now I've got loose consists all over the place. Easy...no need for an AE to create and place loose consists.
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->