Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Can't get AI Services into the Timetable

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hanover Park, Il., USA.
    Posts
    9,421

    Default Can't get AI Services into the Timetable

    I created an activity where the 2 services seem to be tied to the activity correctly, and show in the Services & Traffic windows, but not in the Timetable window. Thus, I can not see them while running the activity.
    I look at other activities and I see the services in the Timetable window.
    I am frustrating myself, because I can never get the same results twice when using this AE. It isn't overcomplicated, but I must be fouling steps unknowingly.

    I am using the latest version of TSRE5. Any suggestions?

    Thanks very much!

    Attached Images Attached Images
    Neil

    Here at home, in the railroad mayhem capital of the world.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lubec ME USA
    Posts
    512

    Default

    I don't see any stops in the service window for the service. Normally these would be created if the path had platforms defined along it. I'm not sure if a timetable gets created if there are no stops at platforms defined in the service.

    One issue that also comes up with TSRE Activity editing is that changes to the traffic don't always get propagated to the activity (.act) file which is where the timetable information is stored. Often you have to force this by reselecting the traffic in the list on the right hand side and/or forcing an activity file update by selecting activity info -> open settings and making a small change there e.g. to the description.

    Jon

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hanover Park, Il., USA.
    Posts
    9,421

    Default

    Thanks for your reply Jon,
    As you can see in my screenshot below, I don't have station stops in any of my working activities. You can see in this example that the 2 services are present.
    I have tried 6 ways from Sunday making minor changes and saves with no positive effect.

    Attached Images Attached Images
    Neil

    Here at home, in the railroad mayhem capital of the world.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,681

    Default

    The timetable part is only for trains that make station stops. If this is a cement train, why would it make passenger station stops? You are trying to fill out a section that should remain empty.


    ORTS Seligman = The southwest chief activity shows these station stops





    The grain train activity shows no timetable stops





    If you go into the services editor for the grain train, the only station option listed is Kingman and there is an empty check box. So Kingman does not show in the timetable. The Kingman station is the only station that the path of the grain train goes through evidently (the path prob does not run the entire route)


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,681

    Default

    The other aspect about synchronization between TRF (traffic) and ACT (activity) files and the delicate moves in TSRE described by jon needed to preserve it. This is one place where TSRE really should be made more bulletproof and a bit less trappy.

    Here is a comparison of the "off the shelf" TRF and ACT files for the CN 418 activity that came with Ruel Sub. The green highlights are where synchronization was preserved, the red highlights is broken. Either the start time is not the same, or the AI Service name does not match. For any entries where there is a mismatch, these AI trains will not spawn during the activity. They'll be no shows.

    There are 86,400 seconds in a 24 hr clock cycle, so the start time has to be a number between 00001 and 86400. TRF on left, ACT on right.


  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,444

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by geepster775 View Post
    ...
    There are 86,400 seconds in a 24 hr clock cycle, so the start time has to be a number between 00001 and 86400. TRF on left, ACT on right.
    Off topic, apologies.
    I believe OR accommodates trains that start after midnight, this thread at ET may be pertinent >> http://www.elvastower.com/forums/ind...fter-midnight/ So maybe TSRE-AE should also?
    Last edited by R. Steele; 08-18-2021 at 09:50 PM.
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,444

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by geepster775 View Post
    ...Here is a comparison of the "off the shelf" TRF and ACT files for the CN 418 activity that came with Ruel Sub. The green highlights are where synchronization was preserved, the red highlights is broken. Either the start time is not the same, or the AI Service name does not match. For any entries where there is a mismatch, these AI trains will not spawn during the activity. They'll be no shows.
    Sorry off topic again, but I just checked this activity with Ged Saunders ActMan and it did not see these errors. Activity showed no errors.
    I was unaware of them, thanks for the information.
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Hanover Park, Il., USA.
    Posts
    9,421

    Default

    Folks, I got the two AI services to list with the player service in the Timetable window, and to appear in the activity itself.
    It was an uncertain algorithm of keeping various windows open (trial and error), making any small edit, selecting one of the AI paths in the "Paths" tab, doing a save, and finally - they appeared.
    Sporadic results indeed for me. I have created three different activities this week, and each one I had to jump through different hoops to get the final results expected.
    Thanks to all who took the time to respond.

    I love the TSRE5 RE, but the AE is a bit unpredictable - at least for me.
    Neil

    Here at home, in the railroad mayhem capital of the world.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->