Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: Windows 11 is coming

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK.
    Posts
    6,956

    Default

    As for Win 11, if your computer does not meet the required standard you will not be able to install it anyway. Microsoft is already kicking substandard computers off of the test phase.
    Beer is not a matter of life or death, it is much more serious than that.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Stalinist,broke United Kingdom (Hey buddy,can you spare �1.3 trillion?))
    Posts
    2,233

    Default

    I do have WIN 10 on a laptop...it is OK for the internet but I had it on another tower PC...rubbish.My WIN7 machines do not go on the internet.MSTS only !

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,371

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ragtimer View Post
    I do have WIN 10 on a laptop...it is OK for the internet but I had it on another tower PC...rubbish.My WIN7 machines do not go on the internet.MSTS only !
    Peter, that's a big statement to make! I've always used tower PCs - it all depends on HOW Win 10 is set up. Having said that, I built my own PCs and installed Win 10 myself using default procedures, EXCEPT that I didn't create a password to access it, neither did I create an account with Microsoft, preferring to use the 'local account' option.

    Cheers,
    Ged

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    1,732

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slipperman View Post
    Having said that, I built my own PCs and installed Win 10 myself using default procedures, EXCEPT that I didn't create a password to access it, neither did I create an account with Microsoft, preferring to use the 'local account' option.
    Cheers,
    Ged
    I've just got WIN10 pre-installed on a Tower PC, delivered yesterday in fact. I was under the impression that you need to open an account and register your WIN10 serial number as there is no disc, it's all digital nowadays, and if I need to re-install the OS in future I have to have it registered with MS, so I can download it again, how do you go about that if you don't register it online?

    Cheerz. Steve.
    Last edited by ex-railwayman; 09-11-2021 at 01:40 PM. Reason: re-edit
    i7 10700k 3.8GHz Eight Core CPU, Gigabyte Z590 AORUS ELITE AX, 32GB RAM, nVidia RTX3060ti 8GB, WIN10 PRO 64-bit. 10xTB in HDDs total.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,371

    Default

    Hi Steve,
    Sorry, mate, but I don't know the answer to that one! As far as I can remember, I have had to re-install Win 10 once and used the free telephone service to re-activate it. I had no problem downloading an updated version after entering my Win 10 serial code.

    Cheers,
    Ged

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    Bloomington, Indiana
    Posts
    536

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by derekmorton View Post
    >Really missing the good old Control Panel UI

    2 ways you can yet that.

    1. install Classic Shell,
    2. on win10 do a search for control panel and it will come up, all the old commands are still there.
    Classic Shell is "deprecated", no longer supported or in any development from the original creator for quite a few years. It's been replaced by another open source project, a "fork", called Open Shell. Looks the same, works the same, a must-have to avoid the poorly designed "Modern" Windows 8\10 user interface.
    Last edited by ftldave; 09-11-2021 at 03:37 PM. Reason: add txt
    - FTLDave

    "Research is what I'm doing when I don't know what I'm doing." - Wernher von Braun


    "A software suggestion is not a valid answer to a configuration/troubleshooting question." - Timelmer

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,681

    Default

    Intel processor list.

    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/win...tel-processors

    A whole lot of PC junking, very little upgrading going on.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Oshawa ON
    Posts
    1,733

    Default

    I just had to re-install Win10 Home Edition. It was quite painless and easy overall. Just took a lot of time to complete, I chose the option to keep my apps, so I guess that is why it took longer.
    My tower did not come with a disc either, so I was always wondering how it would be if it needed to be reinstalled, what a nice surprise that it was straightforward. I am still installing things as I discover they are missing, but now everything is up to date and Open Rails runs with twice the FPS again, like when the computer was new 5 years ago.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Stalinist,broke United Kingdom (Hey buddy,can you spare �1.3 trillion?))
    Posts
    2,233

    Default

    As far as I am concerned,Win 7 was not broken,so why "fix it".The Win 10 frontend is so complicated.I think the companies concerned have departments that feel they have to justify their existence by keeping changing things for the sake of it rather than improve.My new car is the same,same model as before,but they have changed (and ruined) the controls to scroll through the information displayed i.e digiital speedo,miles covered,range,fuel consumption.(Made them too small).Engine size reduced but fuel consumption worse.Everyone seems to have forgotten the "KISS" principle.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Nottingham, England
    Posts
    1,732

    Default

    I love WIN 7, however, a few new games have started to appear on Steam, World Rally Championships, type games, where you need to be running WIN10 as standard, and having had my old PC for over 7 year's now I thought it good idea to upgrade, and if I wanted to obtain the newer PC games in the future having 10 pre-installed would cut down on the hassle. Unsure if this was a good move or not, time will tell, as they say. I found a tutorial on YouTube to change the WIN10 homepages, etc, back to the WIN7 mode, so it might help me navigating through the MS minefield. I just hope I can play all my games without jumping through hoops and faffing around with spurious Windows upgrades that might crash something, WIN 11 will take at least 9-12 months to catch up with what's already out there, so, we may as well stay with what we know. And I also noticed that my old CPU isn't recognized by WIN11 anyway, so, getting a new PC altogether may be a blessing in disguise.

    Cheerz. Steve.
    Last edited by ex-railwayman; 09-13-2021 at 02:24 PM. Reason: re-edit
    i7 10700k 3.8GHz Eight Core CPU, Gigabyte Z590 AORUS ELITE AX, 32GB RAM, nVidia RTX3060ti 8GB, WIN10 PRO 64-bit. 10xTB in HDDs total.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->