Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Problem installing bin on WIN 7 professional

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Stalinist,broke United Kingdom (Hey buddy,can you spare �1.3 trillion?))
    Posts
    2,253

    Default Problem installing bin on WIN 7 professional

    I am trying to install MSTS as a backup for my original installation on another 7 machine but do not seem able to get BIN installed.
    Which version should I use,and do I need to modify the original MSTS (which has installed happily to the root "C" drive).If so,whixh downloads (available on Steam4me should I use and in which order).
    Or can I simply copy the working version from the original to the new.(including all the other files it installs)
    I should add that when I try to make the path from the shortcut ...train.exe-mem2048, it complains it is not a valid path although it works fine in the original machine (I may have not typed the path correctly here,but it is correct on the computer,checked several times.I know you will all say I should use OR,but I just cannot get on with it.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lubec ME USA
    Posts
    527

    Default

    I suspect that should be "...train.exe -mem2048" with a space between "exe" and "-mem"

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,401

    Default

    Hi Jon & Peter,
    .... also, if there are quotes around the train.exe path, they MUST NOT be around the parameters :
    Example : "T:\MSTS\Train Simulator\train.exe" -mem:2048

    Not forgetting the ':' between 'mem' and '2048'.

    Cheers,
    Ged

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tujunga Calif (Senile City)
    Posts
    5,927

    Default

    Are you installing MSTS from the disc on the new machine or just trying to add a copy from the other machine?
    Jim

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Stalinist,broke United Kingdom (Hey buddy,can you spare �1.3 trillion?))
    Posts
    2,253

    Default

    From the disc.I suspect I got the path wrong,my eyesight not so good these days,I missed the space and it is so long since I installed BIN ! I am looking for the file which provides the popup when you try to change cabs.On the original,I found it and corrected the spelling of "break" to "brake".Damned if I can find it now!

    Thank you all for the replies,i will go back to it ,but which bin?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tujunga Calif (Senile City)
    Posts
    5,927

    Default

    After you installed from the disc did you install the MSTS 1.2 update? Thats required for Bin. I think the last version of BIN was 1.8
    Jim

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Stalinist,broke United Kingdom (Hey buddy,can you spare �1.3 trillion?))
    Posts
    2,253

    Default

    I have all the update files ,but still wondering in which order to install them although my disc seems to install everything,but still going to install those updates !

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,401

    Default

    Hi Peter,
    The best tutorial for installing MSTS into Win 10 is on Steam4Me (https://msts.steam4me.net/tutorials/...sts_win10.html), with one caveat - see 7. below.

    There is only one correct order for the installation - in summary :
    1. Install MSTS from its CDs, ensuring that its installation folder is amended to something of your choice, outside of C:\Program Files/C:\Program Files (x86).
    2. Download the v1.4 web update from the Steam4Me site (and the Class 50/SD402 updates if your version of MSTS is v1.0)
    3. Download the Bin patch v1.8.052113en from the uktrainsim link - http://mstsbin.uktrainsim.com/data/M...8.052113en.zip
    4. Run the v1.4 web update, changing the installation folder to the one you selected at 1. (add the Class50/SD402 updates if required).
    5. Install the Bin patch.
    6. Open the GLOBAL folder and delete startup.mpg file.
    7. Right-click train.exe, select Properties, then the Compatibility tab. Left click the 'Run this program as an administrator' box to add a tick. If you MUST use launcher.exe, do the same with that file.

    To allow MSTS to use as much memory as it can, it's recommended that the whole path to launcher.exe in the created Desktop icons be changed to the following, which are only examples :
    SIM : "T:\MSTS\Train Simulator\train.exe" -mem:2048
    Editors & Tools : "T:\MSTS\Train Simulator\train.exe" -toolset -mem:2048
    Note, more that 2048 may be entered as the mem value, but MSTS cannot use more than about 1600.

    Replace T:\MSTS\Train Simulator with whichever drive and folder you selected at 1., eg C:\1MSTS
    The path part (ie up to .exe) MUST be enclosed in double-quotes if it contains any spaces.

    Hope I haven't missed anything crucial, and you find the above useful

    Cheers,
    Ged
    Last edited by slipperman; 10-23-2021 at 08:03 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Stalinist,broke United Kingdom (Hey buddy,can you spare �1.3 trillion?))
    Posts
    2,253

    Default

    Thank you,Ged,just what I was looking for.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Auckland, New Zealand.
    Posts
    244

    Default

    If you're wanting an EXACT copy of your original installation on your second machine, the easiest way is to install the basic MSTS on the second machine from the CDs (to set up the registry entries) and then clean out the new Train Simulator folder on the NEW machine and copy the FULL contents of the Train Simulator folder from the original machine to the new machine.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->