Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: TSRE5 Consist Editor not Loading Properly

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Oshawa ON
    Posts
    1,752

    Default TSRE5 Consist Editor not Loading Properly

    Hello, I am having an issue with the TSRE5 Consist Editor. It opens to the input screen, but when "Load" at the bottom is clicked it does nothing, then says "Not Working" and eventually closes. I have Version 0.7.002 from the Koenig Site.
    It was working fine before I had to do a purge on my desktop, now only the Route Editor portion works properly. There is certainly something amiss, with the one portion working and the other not.
    After downloading this latest version, now I click on Consist Editor, the DOS Screen shows up (Says ....Conedit) but it now opens the Route Editor! How do I get it to point to the Consist Editor?? The Route Editor works as it should and opens and functions properly.
    I really like the Consist Editor and would like to have it back.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    4,759

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Don6218 View Post
    Hello, I am having an issue with the TSRE5 Consist Editor. It opens to the input screen, but when "Load" at the bottom is clicked it does nothing, then says "Not Working" and eventually closes. I have Version 0.7.002 from the Koenig Site.
    It was working fine before I had to do a purge on my desktop, now only the Route Editor portion works properly. There is certainly something amiss, with the one portion working and the other not.
    After downloading this latest version, now I click on Consist Editor, the DOS Screen shows up (Says ....Conedit) but it now opens the Route Editor! How do I get it to point to the Consist Editor?? The Route Editor works as it should and opens and functions properly.
    I really like the Consist Editor and would like to have it back.

    Quoting from the TSRE manual (the file named "Book.pdf") in your folder where TSRE5 is installed:
    The Consist Editor is a built-in part of the TSRE5 application. It is enabled by supplying a command line
    option to TSRE5 when the program is started. This option contains the value of "--conedit". This is step
    that is accomplished by the supplied ConsistEditor.bat file.
    • To use the Consist Editor you must have a version of TSRE5 that is V0.6124 or higher.
    • You need to edit the settings.txt file and set the path to your MSTS/OR routes/trains directory,
    Example: gameRoot = F:/train simulator
    • You run the ConsistEditor.bat file from the command line or you can use Windows Explorer to copy
    the ConsistEditor.bat file and then use "Paste Shortcut" to save it to your desktop. You can then use
    the new desktop icon to start the Consist Editor.
    Charles

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Oshawa ON
    Posts
    1,752

    Default

    Here is a Screen shot of what I have and the result of clicking on that Consist Editor line. It brings up the Route Editor even though the dos window says ConEdit.
    Con Editor Issue.jpg

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    4,759

    Default

    Yes the entry menu is the same as the one for the RE. Just choose which mini-install to use and click load.
    Charles

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Oshawa ON
    Posts
    1,752

    Default

    Mini-install??? I go to the bar above the listing and Consists or ConEdit are not an option.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Huntsville, AL
    Posts
    4,759

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by crstagg View Post
    Yes the entry menu is the same as the one for the RE. Just choose which mini-install to use and click load.

    The CE opening menu looks just like the RE menu except the CE menu lists, below the default install, all your Installs of MSTS/OR content. Where as the RE lists the Routes in the selected Install.

    I did not have version 7.002 EXE file so I had to download and replace the 7.001 EXE just to test to see that the ConsistEditor.bat file worked correctly. After renaming TSRE5_v0.7.002.exe to TSRE5.exe. I ran the BAT file and it opened the CE correctly.

    Note I renamed the EXE from TSRE5_v0.7.002.exe toTSRE5.exe
    because the Bat file has as its contents:
    TSRE5.exe --conedit

    I also always rename the replaced EXE as "TRSRE5_previous ver #.exe So I can go back if i find problems.
    Note this Thread and my post #5: https://www.trainsim.com/vbts/showth...87#post1989587
    A bug created between V0.698 and v0.7 causes this problem. Will have to check if 0.7002 corrected this.

    FYI the Lists of MSTS/OR content installs is maintained by TSRE in a text file named cerecent.txt
    Easiest way to populate the list is just create the cerecent.txt file with Notepad.
    Mine looks like this:
    a:\msts
    a:\sh-orts
    a:\msts-test
    a:\wp3
    a:\wp3-raw
    a:\3dtrains test bed
    a:/orts-mini - test
    a:\wp3 - copy
    a:/siskiyou
    a:\trainsimulations
    (Blank line with carriage return)
    Charles

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Oshawa ON
    Posts
    1,752

    Default

    Hey, I am not sure what I did, but I uninstalled what I had just installed, except for the Icon folder that came from somewhere. I reinstalled another download, this time using Microsoft-Bing instead of Google and with the minor change of renaming TSRE5 everything is now working.
    Thank you all for your prompt responses. I find that the "Manual" is not really easy to use in that any search must be very accurate to get to where you need to be. But with that said, great job all on a great program that IS easy to use.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->