Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: Open Rails rolling stock placement

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    297

    Default Open Rails rolling stock placement

    placement of your rolling stock such as ,Cars,Engines .MSTS or OR

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Illinois
    Posts
    106

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
    placement of your rolling stock such as ,Cars,Engines .MSTS or OR
    Ummm ????

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2020
    Location
    Bengaluru, India
    Posts
    64

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
    placement of your rolling stock such as ,Cars,Engines .MSTS or OR
    What exactly do you mean by placement? Is this about consist creation, trainset folder hierarchy, or something entirely different?
    Swadesh
    Railfan from Bengaluru, KA, India
    My YouTube Channel: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVC...KA-9nsmib27ndg
    Happy simming!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Chippenham, Wiltshire, UK.
    Posts
    6,961

    Default

    You can set up your train simulation folders in any way you like using profiles ( mini-routes) and use the Content tab in Options to point OR to them. The OR installation folder must not hold anything other than the OR code and associated files.
    Beer is not a matter of life or death, it is much more serious than that.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    297

    Default

    ok, I did not know whether to keep all rolling stock in the (trains /trainset folders) or in the TrainSimulations trains trainset folders.
    Baldwin beer is good

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,558

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bigjohn View Post
    ok, I did not know whether to keep all rolling stock in the (trains /trainset folders) or in the TrainSimulations trains trainset folders.
    Baldwin beer is good
    Slow down, there is a big difference between "TrainSimulations" ( formerly Streamlines ) trainset folder and the default trainset folder used by MSTS, OR, miniroutes. Don't mix the two up....keep all the equipment from the vendor "TrainSimulations" where their installer points.
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    297

    Default

    what about NAVS stock? I also was way wrong about Open Rails folders. so forgive that infraction. I'll read the manual better next time or something like that.
    Last edited by bigjohn; 01-13-2022 at 10:24 PM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Lubec ME USA
    Posts
    557

    Default

    With ORTS, each "profile" directory pointed to in the options - contents tab has its own global, routes, sound, and trains folders. This is especially useful when you have multiple sets of rolling stock for specific routes. For example I have routes from the US, Britain, Europe, Australia and India, all of which have their own unique stock and so have their own profiles. Also allows you to separate by era - 1950s vs modern day. It does sometimes mean copying common items such as sound, cabviews, etc. as well as commonly used stock.

    Note that trainsimulations routes MUST be kept separate from other MSTS compatible routes as they use DDS textures and other items specific to those routes.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    297

    Default

    Extract the "NAVS_Tanker_T112_1bay_BASE" and "NAVS_COMMON" folders directly to your Open Rails "TRAINSET" folder. This is very confusing. under the open rails folder, there is no trainset folder, only in the train simulations folder. Do I have all this stuff in the wrong place?
    ( c: trainsimulations/global/routs/sound/trains)(c: program files (x86) open rails )

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Eltham, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    7,076

    Default

    >Open Rails "TRAINSET" folder.

    This does not mean trainset folder under Open Rails, it means the old microsoft trainset folder.
    My main trainset folder is on my D drive, and my trainsimulations trainset folder is in a different place on my D drive.
    In OR I have 4 different places that I can run routes from.
    Cheers
    Derek

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->