Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: tree replacement

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    303

    Default tree replacement

    I would like to replace some trees so the reflict more like the west coast of the USA.The route's would be NCR_USA32 and FBLine3.Threes would be AU_Gum mostly these,others would be normal eucalyptus type,where I live Joshua trees are the prolific type, just for fun.
    tutorials? Adivce ?
    BigJohn

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Stalinist,broke United Kingdom (Hey buddy,can you spare �1.3 trillion?))
    Posts
    2,275

    Default

    The way I do it is to find suitable trees either from another route I have or freeware and copy the ace,s and sd files into a temporary folder then rename them to the trees I want to replace .Mark the trees you wish to replace as "treex_orig" or whatever you like .then move the new files into the respective folders.
    If everything works you can delete the originals.
    Remember to back everything up first !

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tujunga Calif (Senile City)
    Posts
    5,960

    Default

    Sometimes you can just replace the .ace file. I do it all the time..
    Jim

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,686

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hiball 3985 View Post
    Sometimes you can just replace the .ace file. I do it all the time..
    It would work --- IF the replacement ace file was named exactly the same as the original...otherwise wouldn't you have to change the name in the shape file?
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tujunga Calif (Senile City)
    Posts
    5,960

    Default

    Correct, just rename the .ace file to the name of the one being replaced. It doesn't work 100% of the time, you wouldn't want to use a short tree on a tall pine shape as an example. trial and error..
    Jim

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,686

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by hiball 3985 View Post
    Correct, just rename the .ace file to the name of the one being replaced. It doesn't work 100% of the time, you wouldn't want to use a short tree on a tall pine shape as an example. trial and error..
    Thank you for taking the time to explain the whole procedure...something I knew, that's why I posed the question. But you never know the experience/knowledge level of the reader....and your original remark was missing a key component...in my estimation.
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    303

    Default

    replacing .s ace sd files seems to be ok
    this is what I found works ok
    thank you all for your input
    BigJohn

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •