Page 1 of 13 12311 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 124

Thread: Steam in TSW2.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Metairie, Louisiana
    Posts
    828

    Default Steam in TSW2.

    So...there's going to be steamers in TSW2 soon. A LMS Jubilee and 8F.

    https://live.dovetailgames.com/live/...ol-lime-street

    Make of that what you will.

    Parker B. - A Misplaced Midwesterner.
    Also known as Mr. Two Bits and Mr. Squarewheels.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    6,276

    Default

    I’ve posted a fair bit about this at the DTG forum so not going to repeat chapter and verse here.

    A rather unexpected and possibly over ambitious route for a first stab at it, even though Crewe to Liverpool is only about 35 miles. It seems the route was chosen largely to satisfy the whim of Paul Jackson the CEO, who had a dream of seeing steam era Crewe in TSW. The fact Bossman games are involved gives some reassurance as their stuff for TS is quite well regarded, though I couldn’t fathom how to get their 8F moving when I tried it.

    Let’s just hope they know what they are doing and the enthusiasm and blabber on the streams translates into a quality product, both in terms of optimisation and the steam driving experience.
    Vern.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    S.W.WALES
    Posts
    3,939

    Default

    Re-installed my free Epic version and just added some UK DLC, Manchester route, Darlington route and heavy freight pack and a couple of loco's. No need to get anything else as i will never use any of them.

    The other 2D scenery game is deleted.

    Mike.
    Yma O Hyd

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    6,276

    Default

    I was contemplating getting the Diesel Legends for the GW Main Line, I know it's a bit false with the era but rather have the runs laid out in a proper timetable than trying to use the limited scenario editor.

    The Trans Pennine route is very good especially with the heavy freight pack. Tees Valley is a bit on the short side, but still a decent bit of freight action.

    I've cut back on R8 not so much because of the scenery but just the lack of any real purpose to what you're doing. It's great if you're 110% into American style railroading but the casual game is a bit lacking.
    Vern.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    S.W.WALES
    Posts
    3,939

    Default

    Yes Vern i will probably get the mis-named Diesel Legends of the Western. Just for the blue D1000 class, even just to run on TP route.

    Every route in TSW2 is short buddy, just got to accept it i suppose.

    Last run i did on the other game, was from Fresno heading east and it was soul destroying.

    Endless single track with rows of 2d veg on each side, mile after mile.

    I have OR installed and the old MSTS ATSF Seligman 2. Looks much nicer, between Needles and Seligman and on to Winslow.

    Mike.
    Yma O Hyd

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    S.W.WALES
    Posts
    3,939

    Default

    Just about to purchase the couple of UK items on Steam again, that interest me.

    As there is a 50% sale. But then found out i was able to restore all my addons including TSW2 base game, as i had not actually refunded them.

    R8 was deleted last night, shonky graphics and no intention to improve them.

    The physics in TSW2 are just as good and i have far more interest in UK railways than US.

    Mike.
    Yma O Hyd

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    6,276

    Default

    Welcome back to the dark side!

    Actually the last couple of days I’ve been running AC electrics in TS on WCML North and WCML Shap. Hopefully we’ll see those in TSW one day, 86s and 87s complete with tap changer.
    Vern.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    S.W.WALES
    Posts
    3,939

    Default

    Thank you young Vernon Just purchased the Penzance route for the dmu as well, 50% off.

    My goodness that is spooky Vern, the last time i played TS. I was running the merged Preston to Glasgow and Edinburgh route.

    With 86's and 87's and i agree a decent length route in TSW2 with the lecky's would be excellent.

    Mike.
    Yma O Hyd

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    6,276

    Default

    I've got to try and find that merge, but don't really want to part with money to Alan Thomson if I can help it. (Nothing against the guy, I just don't believe in being forced to pay a subscription to get freeware).

    Incidentally after travelling pretty much the length from Fresno to Bakersfield I came to the same conclusion, got to be the most boring section in Run 8, not helped by the bland graphics. Really not worth the £32 or thereabouts I paid for it.
    Vern.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    S.W.WALES
    Posts
    3,939

    Default

    No i subscribed to ATS and it was an even worse decision, than subscribing to Trainz Plus

    Oh dear Vern, you were not impressed then, we live and learn buddy.

    Can you tell me how i find out which version of TSW2 i have please.

    A lot of mods require either Steam v4.26 or a few others v4.23

    Also more confusing to me some require v4.26 Rush Hour.

    Any help would be much appreciated buddy. As there a quite a few really good mods on the TSW2 Train Sim Community site.

    Mike.
    Yma O Hyd

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •