Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11

Thread: AC4400CW speedo needle off centre.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    823

    Default AC4400CW speedo needle off centre.

    Recently downloaded MLT's Rogers Pass and noticed the speedometer needle is off to the left instead of being centred in the AC4400CW loco cabs. In the attached screenshot it's just visible around the 20mph mark. Can't find any other posts mentioning this and can't think of anything I've done that would of caused this.. Any suggestions please guys?
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Regards,

    Nick


    Dell Desktop. Intel i5 3.3 CPU. 8GB RAM. Nvidia GTX 1050Ti 4GB graphics. Windows Pro 64bit. RailDriver. Partridge in a pear tree...

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    Hi Nick,
    You've posted this in an MSTS Forum. Having just checked this cabview, in MSTS, all seems perfectly OK with the needle moving around the dial as speed increases.

    However, if you're using Open Rails, the needle pivot point certainly does appear just below the 20mpg mark and, as speed increases, it moves up the dial! Sorry, I can't help to solve this problem, but I wonder if it's caused by the texture file being slightly 'compressed' horizontally? By that, I mean that the speedometer dial is oval.

    Cheers,
    Ged

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    823

    Default

    Hi Ged,
    Yes I'm using OR. Posted in the MSTS forum as the route the trainset came in was one of MLT's MSTS routes.

    Well your explanation certainly explains things. Thought I was going round the bend there for a moment! Thanks as always..
    Regards,

    Nick


    Dell Desktop. Intel i5 3.3 CPU. 8GB RAM. Nvidia GTX 1050Ti 4GB graphics. Windows Pro 64bit. RailDriver. Partridge in a pear tree...

  4. #4
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    Hi Nick,
    If no solution is forthcoming, may I suggest that you use the AC4400 cabview from the file library - ac44d9cab.zip?

    There is an extensive readme which covers these locos from the MLT Rogers Pass route (which is very convenient!).
    I can also confirm that the speedometer needle displays correctly in MSTS and Open Rails, although the digital values are a little too large for both.

    Cheers,
    Ged

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    823

    Default

    Hi Ged,

    Thanks for that info. I've posted under "Is It A Bug?" on the Elvas website and will await any developments from that before investigating the file you've mentioned.
    Regards,

    Nick


    Dell Desktop. Intel i5 3.3 CPU. 8GB RAM. Nvidia GTX 1050Ti 4GB graphics. Windows Pro 64bit. RailDriver. Partridge in a pear tree...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,727

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slipperman View Post
    Hi Nick,
    ... although the digital values are a little too large for both.
    Cheers,
    Ged
    If by "digital values" you mean the font size?...in OR digital fonts can be adjusted by the user....add "ORTSfont" to the cvf file, of course making adjustments to the type of font and size as required.

    Code:
    Digital (
    			Type ( SPEEDOMETER DIGITAL )
    			Position ( 282 120 32 32 )
    			ScaleRange ( 0 90 )
    			Accuracy ( 1 )
    			AccuracySwitch ( 0 )
    			LeadingZeros ( 0 )
    			Justification ( 1 )
    			PositiveColour ( 0
    				ControlColour ( 0 255 0 )
    			)
    			NegativeColour ( 0 )
    			DecreaseColour ( 0 )
    			Units ( MILES_PER_HOUR )
    			ORTSfont ( 9 1 "Digital-7 Mono" )
    		)
    "9" -- size of font "0" or "1" normal or bold font and name of font ( found in the systems font library) in quotes.

    To niknak -- I suppose you could adjust the needle using the MSTS cabview editor? or manually until it looked correct.
    Last edited by R. Steele; 02-17-2022 at 12:28 PM.
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    823

    Default

    Hi Gerry

    Thanks for that information which may come in handy if I need that cabview that Ged suggested. I did attempt to manually adjust the needle - Got it centered but it still rose up as well as rotated when increasing speed.
    Regards,

    Nick


    Dell Desktop. Intel i5 3.3 CPU. 8GB RAM. Nvidia GTX 1050Ti 4GB graphics. Windows Pro 64bit. RailDriver. Partridge in a pear tree...

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Phoenix AZ
    Posts
    478

    Default

    You could try this position ( 322 238 2 18 ) in the speedo dial setting. the pointer sweeps but stays pretty well in the speedo circle.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,523

    Default

    Hi,
    @lineman : Thank you - even though the pivot point also revolves, the needle does indicate the correct speed!

    @Gerry : Thanks for the font size adjustment, however, with respect, I don't think the Cabview Editor will help because the speedo shows correctly in MSTS. The texture is 1024x1024 whereas normal cabview textures are 768x1024 (or of different resolution with the same ratio). It could be converted to 768x1024, but then, I think the position of every single element of the cabview would require adjustment!!

    Cheers,
    Ged

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,727

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slipperman View Post
    ... I don't think the Cabview Editor will help because the speedo shows correctly in MSTS. The texture is 1024x1024 whereas normal cabview textures are 768x1024 (or of different resolution with the same ratio). It could be converted to 768x1024, but then, I think the position of every single element of the cabview would require adjustment!!

    Cheers,
    Ged
    Ahh yes, of course, silly of me, lapse in logic. Well that's another thing needed for OR, a cabview editor...although many adjustments can be made with a text editor.
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •