Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: ATSF SD45B Unit for 1995 Westbound Southwest Chief

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Location
    Chalmette, Louisiana
    Posts
    225

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Don6218 View Post
    If one of you could please send me your file for this locomotive that is working I would be very grateful, even without the "S" file, but let me know which to use, so far with these suggestions there are three different ones.

    Thank you.
    I sent you a message to send me your e-mail but you haven't replied

    AJ

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tujunga Calif (Senile City)
    Posts
    5,960

    Default

    I seem to remember this unit was a problem but I figured it out, too long ago to remember the fix but I can help with the files also.
    Jim

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,082

    Default

    I didn't have this loco, but messed around with it for about 15 minutes yesterday and got it up and running. I used the BN_SD45_6476.s shape that is available for free here in the library, in the Danny Beck BN file pack. I renamed that file to ATSF_SD45B_5502.s per the Readme. I used SFM 2.5 to uncompress it, then used notepad ++ to edit it. I edited the shader_names and prim_states code per the Readme instructions. I edited the image code to this:

    images ( 4
    image ( ATSF_SD45B_5502a.ace )
    image ( ATSF_SD45B_5502b.ace )
    image ( SD40_GLASS.ace )
    image ( SD40_GLASSb.ace )

    I don't know if the 2 "glass" aces are exactly the same, but the SD40_INT.ace is definitely the cab, which shouldn't be there. So I didn't use it.

    After the editing, I compressed the image file using SFM 2.5. It loaded into the sim just fine. The placement of the FA is a little off. I fiddled with moving it some, but it seems like nothing is going to line up perfectly, so it just is what it is.

    Some of the recommendations and screenshots above indicate people are using the atsf_sd45-2_5683.s However, that is a SD45-2, not a SD45. Very different carbody, and is not correct. Just FYI.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Last edited by yellowdog; 03-11-2022 at 11:21 AM.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Parker, TX
    Posts
    142

    Default

    Just saw this post...it's been a while since I looked at the fix for the sd45b....I added a separate text file in the DOCS folder to describe the changes...I believe there was an error in the original readme.... Checkout "sd45bfix.txt" and let me know if that works or not...I'll have to go back and look at it again.....like I said it's been a while.....

    Barry...Aka Amtrak115
    Last edited by amtrak115; 03-11-2022 at 12:18 PM.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,082

    Default

    I can't figure out how to edit my post above again, so I'm adding another reply to note that the model loaded into ORTS just fine after I made the edits. I do not have MSTS installed. FYI

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Oshawa ON
    Posts
    1,812

    Default

    Sorry no message in mail-box. send to dontl369 at g mail

    Hopefully it will help. I will try again with the new suggestions.

    Thank You all.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Tujunga Calif (Senile City)
    Posts
    5,960

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by yellowdog View Post
    I didn't have this loco, but messed around with it for about 15 minutes yesterday and got it up and running. I used the BN_SD45_6476.s shape that is available for free here in the library, in the Danny Beck BN file pack. I renamed that file to ATSF_SD45B_5502.s per the Readme. I used SFM 2.5 to uncompress it, then used notepad ++ to edit it. I edited the shader_names and prim_states code per the Readme instructions. I edited the image code to this:

    images ( 4
    image ( ATSF_SD45B_5502a.ace )
    image ( ATSF_SD45B_5502b.ace )
    image ( SD40_GLASS.ace )
    image ( SD40_GLASSb.ace )

    I don't know if the 2 "glass" aces are exactly the same, but the SD40_INT.ace is definitely the cab, which shouldn't be there. So I didn't use it.

    After the editing, I compressed the image file using SFM 2.5. It loaded into the sim just fine. The placement of the FA is a little off. I fiddled with moving it some, but it seems like nothing is going to line up perfectly, so it just is what it is.

    Some of the recommendations and screenshots above indicate people are using the atsf_sd45-2_5683.s However, that is a SD45-2, not a SD45. Very different carbody, and is not correct. Just FYI.

    Thank you for the info, I'll give the BN shape a try..
    Jim

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •