Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
Results 71 to 77 of 77

Thread: V3 Update Wish List

  1. #71

    Default

    Hi Vern,
    Just tried it and it worked, hold F11 and click on a carriage(stand near to it), not sure they all have passenger views though.
    Just sit back and relax, great fun.
    —————
    Jason

  2. #72
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    6,133

    Default

    Excellent!
    Vern.

  3. #73
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    6,133

    Default

    Yep, RTFM Vernon...

    "AttachPointChangeTo F11 Changes to a different attach point within a rail unit.
    This can also be used to quickly board a locomotive by holding this down then left clicking the locomotive. Lastly, use this to board the steps of a locomotive or ladder on a freight car by hitting this key when standing at the steps/ladder."

    Please therefore disregard this particular feature request as it's already in the game!
    Vern.

  4. #74
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    3,981

    Default

    Hey Vern:

    Regarding conductor reviews an idea that I had that was adopted was for me in a similar situation. The Shift 1, 2, 3, 4 and CTRL 1, 2, 3, 4 was meant as conductor save points. So lets say your approaching a switch and you want your conductor to hop off at said switch. You can slow down and hit Shift F11 so that your sitting on the front of the latter (in SD40's not sure about others but it's used to cycle through differen locations on the unit you are in).

    As your at the switch hit F12 to jump to the ground. Now here is the trick. Hit Shift 1 to save that conductor's location. Go back into the train and start the counter. This way you are always looking ahead at what your engineer sees.

    As the counter begins to get low (it doesn't have to end) hit CTRL 1 and you will be teleported back to your conductor position. Flick the switch behind you after it passes and then F11 to jump on the latter and ride it into the spur or yard track.

    The reason for multiple numbers is there are places where 2 or 3 members of a crew will be positioned while building a train. Of course they won't move or walk on their own, but it gives the opportunity for this to take place.

    Hope it helps as i was actually recording a live stream while thinking of your request where I perform this same task all the time.

    Thanks

    Sean
    Rail Transport Systems for Run8 Train Simulator V3
    Discord https://discord.gg/HDKbMDzdzm
    YouTube https://www.youtube.com/c/SeanMurrellRTS

  5. #75
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    3,981

    Default

    RANDOMIZE SUPPLY LOCAL INDUSTRIES ORDER AND WEIGHTS

    The system orders either fully loads or empty cars. It also like to put loads at the front and empties at the back. Though this is easier to handle it's not necessarily prototypical.

    Manifest trains are seldom anywhere near capacity and this includes other types like intermodal, auto, etc. The only ones that come close are coal and I believe grain and some other ballast types.

    After it picks the loads and empties it then sorts by symbol before sorting again by industry code alphabetically. This is what yards and humps are for to do the sorting and are seldom this cookie cutter coming in. The lighter loads would also help manage power requirements.

    CANCEL OTTO REQUEST WHILE HE IS TRYING TO ROUTE

    When Otto can't accomodate a request he still has your request in queue when he gets an opportunity. In some cases this is no longer required or you've passed all the signals you need etc. Unfotunately the only way to cancel is to turn off and turn on AI or wait for the opportunity. There are some situations where Otto gets confused and can't accomodate you and then you have no other choice but to reset the Otto system. A cancle on a pending request would solve this issue.

    Thanks

    Sean
    Rail Transport Systems for Run8 Train Simulator V3
    Discord https://discord.gg/HDKbMDzdzm
    YouTube https://www.youtube.com/c/SeanMurrellRTS

  6. #76
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    6,133

    Default

    Having been distracted from Run 8 by the excellent Bossman UK steamers for DTG TS Classic, feel I must reiterate my plea for steam traction to be added in sooner rather than later. It would bring a whole new range of possibilities into the game, whether operating as "heritage" runs or pseudo historical setting.
    Vern.

  7. #77
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    3,981

    Default

    Can I reiterate all of my idea too?
    Rail Transport Systems for Run8 Train Simulator V3
    Discord https://discord.gg/HDKbMDzdzm
    YouTube https://www.youtube.com/c/SeanMurrellRTS

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •