Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 34

Thread: A-Line And Waycross - Recommendations To Start Out

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    6,134

    Default

    The bowl at Waycross starting to fill up. Since taking this shot got a couple of trains away. It is a tad tricky on the SE routes though as unlike SoCal CSX use train numbers rather than lettered descriptions, so you have to trawl through references on the web for a suitable "headcode" and hope the despatcher recognizes it.

    I already had one train with a code for Atlanta, head off in the direction of Orlando. Oh well...

    I think maybe we need a slightly more definitive way of setting where we want a train to go, particularly on the SE sections.

    screeny_2022.05.09 10.46.10.jpg
    Vern.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, N.S.WALES, Australia
    Posts
    4,488

    Default

    Good to see that you've found your niche with R8, Vern.
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    3,981

    Default

    Trains should be going the way the routing is set up for them. The original routing has issues as I've gone through and made changes though my data is 2007. I'm not in the process of adding even more trains. If you see a symbol going the wrong way, check the routing files and you will likely see the issue here.

    I know CA had some issues with a few actual routings (not the file but failure to run as expected). So far I haven't noticed any issues with any routings in the SE.

    Thanks

    Sean
    Rail Transport Systems for Run8 Train Simulator V3
    Discord https://discord.gg/HDKbMDzdzm
    YouTube https://www.youtube.com/c/SeanMurrellRTS

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    3,981

    Default

    Here is what my routing file currently looks like

    https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...gid=1364537262

    You can also see what those symbols are on the symbols tab. Note this is 2007 data. It's very easy to make a mistake with routing files and set something the wrong way. Even I don't guarantee the changes I've made as I've caught myself in errors before.

    What may be a symbol on one list a certain year could be totally different the next. As for my source data this is the reference I'm using on the wayback machine. It doesn't have every train. In fact I'm still adding more Q series trains, and have made my way through the rare E series trains (most coal trains go both directions) but some such as the ones that head down the Kingsland Sub only go one direction toward the power plant. The E series trains from Kingsland Sub is what comes back out.

    https://web.archive.org/web/20071031...s/freight.html

    I'm currently as far as N014 on the symbol tab (NOT ADDED TO THE ROUTING FILE YET). Green symbols on this tab are on the routing. Yellow are those I have to add. Red are those that I've deleted as they are obsolete or not yet present in 2007.

    Enjoy

    Sean
    Rail Transport Systems for Run8 Train Simulator V3
    Discord https://discord.gg/HDKbMDzdzm
    YouTube https://www.youtube.com/c/SeanMurrellRTS

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    3,981

    Default

    Oh here is a good little link as well. You can search for various locations as you come across them and see how they weed through the CSX Network.

    https://www.csx.com/index.cfm/custom...sx-system-map/

    The reason why I actually enjoy running CSX is because of the bullsheet and the data it provides. Unfortunately it's no longer up to date due to people worried about terrorisim etc. But thankfully 2007 is just before the diamond went in at Waycross which is there from 2008 to present. 2007 is a good data year on the Bullsheet and matched most of the symbols I witnessed so I decided on this era for my server.

    Takes a long time to research all of this data as I'm still improving things. But the efforts are working nicely for myself and those using the server.

    Hope this helps you and others looking to enhance your own single player or server needs.

    Thanks

    Sean
    Rail Transport Systems for Run8 Train Simulator V3
    Discord https://discord.gg/HDKbMDzdzm
    YouTube https://www.youtube.com/c/SeanMurrellRTS

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    6,134

    Default

    Thanks for that information Sean.

    I think part of the issue might be how far you need to set the route out of the east end of Taft Yard before Otto will adopt the train. Not only the powered points in the yard throat bur also the crossovers to get trains on the correct angle of the wye for north or south. There are no actual signals I can see associated with any of these switches (despite being powered and not manual) until the other side of the wye. Ergo Otto will not change the points in the throat or crossovers and the AI will not route set for itself.
    Vern.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    3,981

    Default

    Not sure about the Taft side as I don't spend too much time at that end. Others on the server spend time down there and haven't had any issues that I'm aware of.

    As far as switches go I do have to manual switches to get them to the starting signal at say Waycross. As long as I restore them back to automatic then Otto will bring trains into receiving on their own.

    Thanks

    Sean
    Rail Transport Systems for Run8 Train Simulator V3
    Discord https://discord.gg/HDKbMDzdzm
    YouTube https://www.youtube.com/c/SeanMurrellRTS

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    6,134

    Default

    Sorry Sean I meant Rice Yard/Waycross, not Taft.

    The picture below illustrates the area concerned. Maybe next time Jason is on he could clarify:

    WaycrossPuzzle.jpg
    Last edited by NorthernWarrior; 05-10-2022 at 10:49 AM.
    Vern.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    3,981

    Default

    Yeah I know what you mean, that was what I was talking about. Trains coming off the Thomasville will be fine. If you're departing JAX you need to temporarily set the switches to manual to get out to the 1st signal. I'm thinking they're part of the yard as they are in yard limits and probably too much to fit on the one screen? If not they would be missing signals (which from what I can tell they're not). Trains coming inbound to the yard will throw these switches automatically.

    Thanks

    Sean
    Rail Transport Systems for Run8 Train Simulator V3
    Discord https://discord.gg/HDKbMDzdzm
    YouTube https://www.youtube.com/c/SeanMurrellRTS

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Sep 2005
    Location
    Fayetteville,OH/Chicoutimi,Québec
    Posts
    578

    Default

    Vern,
    There is a Virtual Railcam of that very area on Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0tZ1LK7ckhQ

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •