Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 18 of 18

Thread: Route_Riter

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Eltham, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    7,205

    Default

    >well, I found out the problem the hard drive did not register MSTS properly so needed to reinstall to the main drive and leave the game on the other drive as it has always been everything works great now.

    I hope I am not reading this incorrectly,
    You have reinstalled MSTS to your main drive ( which I assume is the C: drive ) and your old install is on the F: drive?

    If so, then all of your editing will be done on the wrong install.

    You should only have one install of MSTS objects.
    Cheers
    Derek

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,566

    Default

    Hi Derek,
    I may be misreading your post, but you can have as many MSTS installations on as many drives as you want. All you need is a couple of shortcuts to each - or use my utility MSTS_Swap - to run the Sim or Editors of whichever one you want.
    However, I do agree that there can only ever be one 'default' installation.

    Cheers,
    Ged

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Eltham, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    7,205

    Default

    Hi Ged,

    Not my best effort :-)
    I was trying to make the point that IF he did reinstall to the C: drive and his 'working' msts install is the F: drive, all the utilities would use the registry to go to the C: drive.
    Cheers
    Derek

  4. #14

    Default

    I don't think it matters which installation the registry points to as long as it's got the correct executables if it's using MakeAce or ffedit etc...

    What does matter is where content is getting updated and saved...

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Eltham, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    7,205

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by eolesen View Post
    I don't think it matters which installation the registry points to as long as it's got the correct executables if it's using MakeAce or ffedit etc...

    What does matter is where content is getting updated and saved...

    The problem being when a user does not understand which install is being edited.
    Cheers
    Derek

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    344

    Default

    eolsen the path you say in my case drive F 1MSTS, as told in your reply? I'll look into this ASAP.
    thank's







    /

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    344

    Default

    I'm not reinstalling on the main drive C:\ just trying to fix this , MSTS is on drive F as 1MSTS. I'll look in the registry for that code and we will see.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    coos bay.OR
    Posts
    344

    Default

    ok I fixed the registry all works so far and thank you all for the help
    BigJohn

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •