Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 45

Thread: How do you deal with the NAVS car files???

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    New Jersey, United States
    Posts
    515

    Default How do you deal with the NAVS car files???

    I have downloaded the INLAND STEEL sets of the 100 ton NAVS hopper cars. I put all the folders (NAVS_100T4_INLX, NAVS hopper_100t_Quad_type1_base, NAVS freight car sounds and NAVS core/locomotive sounds) into the TRAINS folder.

    I know, before somebody jumps, I AM using Open Rails to run, and the two GOKU Editors as required.

    I see the listings of the WAG files in the Consist Editor for the 4 Inland hoppers, but the thumbnail picture of the car does not show in the right pane when the car is selected from the list. Is that not supposed to happen because of the DDS files instead of ACE??? Or are the cars actually there to fall into a consist??

    ............or am I missing something, as the 4 INLX car file only has WAG (LD, MT) and 2 DDS files......no S or SD???

    Thanks for your help to straighten this out, but this new method stuff is "killing" after you've spent many years working things the other way. Still can't understand what they've done to the text in the WAG and ENG files
    Doug

    Happiness is when the AI-trains appear where you want them to

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Clarion, PA
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Do you have a folder called Navs Common in your trainset folder and if so, are these 2 folders in there......

    Hopper_100T_Quad_Type1
    Include

    They would be in the folder with the base for those hoppers, which is in the file library here.
    I had a similar issue with the 3 bay coal hoppers and realized I didn`t have the base or the common files in my trainset folder. I have several different Open Rails mini route type installs (not sure if that is the right word) and I hadn`t moved the base and common files into the trainset folder.
    Mark

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    New Jersey, United States
    Posts
    515

    Default

    Mark:

    I have the NAVS_Common folder in the Trainset folder. Inside it has 3 folders: Audio, Include and Hopper_100t_Quad_Type1

    I also have multiple installs based on regions or countries of the routes I am using. This one has this COMMON folder in one for East Coast USA. Next to it in the same Trainset folder is the group NAVS_100T_RDG_HTG (as well as INLX files folder) None of the contents of the folders are mixed or combined.

    I get the wagon files listed, but not sure if the hoppers really are there since I don't get the "thumbnail" when I select the car

    Doug
    Doug

    Happiness is when the AI-trains appear where you want them to

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Clarion, PA
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Doug,

    I was having problems with the Conrail and RDG hoppers. They would be listed but no thumbnails, but only in 1 of the 3 installs that would use them. The other two were ok. I redownloaded the 100T Triple Type1 base, here in the library, and installed into that trainset folder and that seemed to take care of the issue.

    Mark
    Last edited by crimsonfloyd; 07-25-2022 at 08:41 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Clarion, PA
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Just to clarify a bit, I have several Open Rails mini route type set ups and there are 3 that I could run these hoppers in. The PRR East, the Monon and one I call Pre Modern, mainly routes that run 1970 to 1990, pre ditch lights, no tape and no heavy graffiti. When I checked Goku`s consist editor the hoppers were fine in the Monon and Pre Modern but would show on the list for PRR East but no thumbnails.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Hanover, PA
    Posts
    221

    Default

    The wag files reference the shapes and .inc files with the 100t triple folder in the NAVS_COMMON folder, additionally open rails does not need .SD files to work

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Clarion, PA
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Once I copied the 100t triple base and common files into the PRR East trainset folder that fixed it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    New Jersey, United States
    Posts
    515

    Default

    Well Mark.........

    Thanks for your suggestions, but I am getting nowhere with these weird files. I tried your ideas of reloading the 100t Base file folders in my Trainset folder and I still can't get the RDG cars to show up in the thumbnail window or even in a consist in the route associated with the TRAINSET folder. I also checked the OR control panel window to make sure "display DDs, in preference to ACE files" is checked.....and EL ZIPPO

    NOT the be all and end all, NOT working for me..............I'll stick with the good old Train Sim file format....runs just as good in OR
    Doug

    Happiness is when the AI-trains appear where you want them to

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Eltham, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    7,249

    Default

    If you install "navs_hopper_100t_quad_type1_base.zip"

    It will fix your issue.

    https://www.trainsim.com/vbts/tslib....rchid=21782786
    Cheers
    Derek

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    New Jersey, United States
    Posts
    515

    Default

    Derek:

    I HAVE.....IT DOESN'T (READ my first post above)

    Your link is bogus.............it keeps returning:

    TrainSim.Com: Error 404 Page Not Found
    The page you requested does not exist. Please try another.

    Referring page:
    (none)

    Requested page:
    /vbts/tslib....rchid=21782786
    Doug

    Happiness is when the AI-trains appear where you want them to

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •