Page 12 of 16 FirstFirst ... 21011121314 ... LastLast
Results 111 to 120 of 156

Thread: It Pulls You Back In...

  1. #111
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    4,168

    Default

    You'll have to ask them. Perhaps their standards are too high or not enough applicants

    Thanks

    Sean

  2. #112
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    4,168

    Default

    Seriously though how much money does a DTG title make vs Run8? I'm one of their biggest supporters and yet I don't own every expansion or new route. I have all of the NE and SE but they are much smaller in comparison. I avoided Bakersfield, Seligman, and the latest route further north in California. I also do not have every piece of rolling stock or engines either.

    Thanks

    Sean

  3. #113
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    S.W.WALES
    Posts
    4,012

    Default

    I have no idea what DTG make in profit Sean. Their routes are cheaper than the Run8 ones and they also include loco's and rolling stock. Where as Run8 you have to buy all that as separate DLC. Unless the customer is happy with the fictional Run8 liveried, loco's and stock.

    I only own the SoCal routes and Donner Pass and a fair bit of the DLC. Not all of it by any means.

    Mike.
    Yma O Hyd

  4. #114
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    St. Catharines, Ontario, Canada.
    Posts
    4,168

    Default

    The reason why their routes are cheaper is because they pump out lots of crap that is incomplete. I'm pretty confident when I purchase a Run8 route that I'm getting quality. Sure their game engine may not be as photo realistic as TSW but take Cajon for example. Cajon Sub from what I understand in TSW is compressed and not the full length where as Run8 you get the whole thing. I know from 1st hand experience the Hamilton TSW DLC that they make lots of scenery objects but put invisible fences to not allow you to enter. The technique is understandable in something like ETS/ATS where your simply creating the illusion of traffic in what is already a compressed map to make traveling across the map quicker. But in what should be a 1 to 1 map not alllowing access or compressing is simply lazy.

    I understand you can't simulate every mainline in the scope such as say an industrial park or harbour. But don't go through the trouble of creating all this scenery and give us half of what is actually there. Either they had a time limit and ran out, perhaps budget who knows. But it simply reaks of corporate greed.

    It's something I don't feel when I think of the Run8 team. They're all top notch guys who put out a quality product and provide quality customer service. I'll take the less than stellar graphics for a simulation that actually works any day (and that is from someone that doesn't even run a train simulator right now).

    Sure I may have got bored but that is after about a decade of having this as my main program to entertain me. I wanted to explore something other than trains for a change and even see what the new simulations coming next year are all about. New routes and regions may sway my enthusiasm towards Run8 again.

    Thanks

    Sean

  5. #115
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    .
    Posts
    610

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by haverfordwest View Post
    Unless the customer is happy with the fictional Run8 liveried, loco's and stock.
    Mike.
    What are you talking about? Nothing about Run8 livery, loco's or stock is fictional. Having run these locos in RL, they are very prototype. And I thought you "Uninstalled" the sim? Why the profuse, continuing rants/comments?

  6. #116
    Join Date
    Jun 2001
    Location
    Yamba, N.S.WALES, Australia
    Posts
    4,627

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Brad3816 View Post
    What are you talking about? Nothing about Run8 livery, loco's or stock is fictional. Having run these locos in RL, they are very prototype. And I thought you "Uninstalled" the sim? Why the profuse, continuing rants/comments?
    Brad, I think Mike is referring to the "Run8" liveries to be found on boxcars and on some locos.
    IBM XT i386; 512Kb RAM; 5.25" FDD; 1.4Mb FDD; 5Mb HDD; VGA 256-colour graphics card; AdLib soundcard; DR DOS 6.0; Windows 3.0

  7. #117
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Swindon, England
    Posts
    6,336

    Default

    I think Mike is referring to the default livery locos and standard boxcars which populate if you don’t own the particular item.

    Hey we all enjoy Run 8 from time to time or we wouldn’t be posting here. However as I commented earlier it can get bloody expensive buying all those car sets if you want your trains to populate correctly. My example being that rake of 12 or 13 wellcars at Sparks for Lathrop in the busy NorCal session on Donner. I bought Wellcar Pack 1 which replaced only three of the R8 boxcars with the correct wagon type. That actually p….d me off quite considerably. The remainder presumably in Packs 2 and 3. That means to properly populate one short train I have to spend $30 or around £28 after bank currency exchange charges factored in, not helped by Run 8/3DTS one at a time purchase system. That same amount could buy me a full route pack including all the consists needed to operate it, in TSC or TSW. Or two routes in the seasonal sales, which Run 8 never seem to have.

    I’m happy to support Run 8 but at the same time really cannot justify spending $30 on a few wagons. Maybe $15 for the whole set of wellcars (in this case) would be much more appealing or start bundling key items of locos and rolling stock with the routes, possibly.
    Last edited by NorthernWarrior; 09-22-2022 at 03:17 AM.
    Vern.

  8. #118

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SurvivorSean View Post
    The reason why their routes are cheaper is because they pump out lots of crap that is incomplete. I'm pretty confident when I purchase a Run8 route that I'm getting quality. Sure their game engine may not be as photo realistic as TSW but take Cajon for example. Cajon Sub from what I understand in TSW is compressed and not the full length where as Run8 you get the whole thing. I know from 1st hand experience the Hamilton TSW DLC that they make lots of scenery objects but put invisible fences to not allow you to enter. The technique is understandable in something like ETS/ATS where your simply creating the illusion of traffic in what is already a compressed map to make traveling across the map quicker. But in what should be a 1 to 1 map not alllowing access or compressing is simply lazy.

    I understand you can't simulate every mainline in the scope such as say an industrial park or harbour. But don't go through the trouble of creating all this scenery and give us half of what is actually there. Either they had a time limit and ran out, perhaps budget who knows. But it simply reaks of corporate greed.

    It's something I don't feel when I think of the Run8 team. They're all top notch guys who put out a quality product and provide quality customer service. I'll take the less than stellar graphics for a simulation that actually works any day (and that is from someone that doesn't even run a train simulator right now).

    Sure I may have got bored but that is after about a decade of having this as my main program to entertain me. I wanted to explore something other than trains for a change and even see what the new simulations coming next year are all about. New routes and regions may sway my enthusiasm towards Run8 again.

    Thanks

    Sean
    Railworks/TS has the same issue. Routes are longer but DTG pumps out a lot of crap for those routes as well. Same cars and engines over and over till one has 10+ copies of the same thing taking up disk space. One could go to great lengths renaming and delating stuff, but it's a huge task that takes time. A DTG route in itself has items that are wrong scenery and building wise. The track and textures are awful. I'm now pretty good with the RE and I can build my own 3D models. I know when I buy a DTG route I'm interested in, it's going be a reclamation project. Sorry to go off the rails about a Run 8 discussion. As most of us know, all sims have their good points and bad points.

  9. #119
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    S.W.WALES
    Posts
    4,012

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Brad3816 View Post
    What are you talking about? Nothing about Run8 livery, loco's or stock is fictional. Having run these locos in RL, they are very prototype. And I thought you "Uninstalled" the sim? Why the profuse, continuing rants/comments?
    What is your problem fanboi, take a chill pill. I own the game so i will comment on it.
    Yma O Hyd

  10. #120
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    S.W.WALES
    Posts
    4,012

    Default

    Yes Bruce and Vern, the default liveries. Some people need to take a look in the mirror.

    Mike.
    Yma O Hyd

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •