Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 23

Thread: "Urgent" 44100Hz Sound Upgrade Help Please

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Attalla,AL
    Posts
    382

    Exclamation "Urgent" 44100Hz Sound Upgrade Help Please

    Oh, where to begin here!? Well, It all started while trying to First Convert MLW's 44100HZ up to The TS's 44100HZ One. DIDN'T Work! At First, was because I missed, WAY TOO MANY LINES! Went back, then just upgrade Basic Air-Dryer, Couplers, Air-Compressor, Bell, GE-ACTraction( but, took it back ). They all seem to Work ok? But, hang-On,..The Car Sounds WON'T load ANY SLACK ACTION OR Brake SOUNDS As result! So, I've Tried Updated 2 Packs( One TS that has the Slack & Slow Rub Line In It From TIgerTrains ), & 2 TigerTrains( TTWelded from 22050 up to 44100 to see if that Worked. NOPE, NOTHING, But The Car Sounds Work Themselves. How Would I go ahead doing that? I thought just by adding ( >excuse the way written once more, on phone>freq.curve -100.0 0.0 100 44100(×3)curve points 3( and again at the bottom if you know what I mean, Granularity 0, or the Org., OR Add 44100 If You know The Other Way ). So, How would I go about doing this & a fix?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,616

    Default

    Hi marklester01,
    Any relation to the Duchess of Sussex??!!

    You seem to be wanting to modify .sms files. If so, may I suggest that you read, and understand (!) the Steam4Me tutorial https://msts.steam4me.net/tutorials/sms_doku.html
    Also, use my utility sms_Checker (sms_checker_v5-1.zip from the library) to identify any errors.

    It would be a great help to us if you would post the actual file contents and NOT your interpretation of them!

    Cheers,
    Ged

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,912

    Default

    It must be fun building 'improved' sound sets the way Johnny Cash builds Cadillacs.

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Hb9F2DT8iEQ

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Attalla,AL
    Posts
    382

    Default

    Yes, but it was more of a,"Shock & test",lol! When I saw A Sister Stream Call for a 44100hz, I'm like,"Ok, Ok That One's still only on The 22050hz or 11025hz & Upgrade"! Then, that's when The Grindings( Open Rails Way of Letting Know Something's Wrong Instead of Shutting Down ), & NO Car Sounds Would Accept Their Air-Line Fill or Slack-Action Sounds. It was then I,"Tried" 44100hz on The Couplers, on TS, , TigerTrains( Tested Only TTWelded1-2 so far till I can get help ) from Its 11025 & 22050 up to 44100hz. That's how & why. When One way says something's wrong, I'd tried to fix it. I'm always trying to wait till the last( well, what I consider anyway ), last minute before I get TrainSim Forum Ask Help Involvement. I do Appreciate The Help though & thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Attalla,AL
    Posts
    382

    Default

    Update 1: Yes, am re-doing ANY needed that I'm aware of Stream(s) needing to be fixed( Line Wise with the 44100 Command, NOT The other Kind ) first before I upload the Copies( .Eng & .Cab+.Wags ) of The Stream Feeds. And, SHALL Use The .SMS Checker as well. Yes, Made sure to include new Stream Count & Double Check Their amounts to be shown, SL Number 5( for short, though some are set to 0 for some odd reason for The .Eng ). NOT Mixing .End with .Cab Streams & Vice-Versa.*

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Attalla,AL
    Posts
    382

    Arrow RE: Sounds of 44100hz Update 1:

    Ok, have got The .SMS was talking about for The .Eng & .Cab "Digi-Swept" & cleaned-Up. Should be better now. But, I'm no way able to be sure:

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,616

    Default

    Hi,
    Each of the .sms files contains two errors which will prevent it from working correctly.

    AC44CW_CSXTCab3.sms
    The 4th Stream entry (line 120) "Engine-Sounds"
    Two additional close brackets are required before the next Stream entry (line 146)
    The 19th Stream entry (line 530) "Dynamic brakes"
    There are two identical 'FrequencyCurve' sections - remove the first (lines 537 - 542), but ensure that the correct number of close brackets terminate the Stream.

    AC44CW_CSXTEng.sms
    The 10th Stream entry (line 313) "Random Fan"
    The close bracket immediately before the next Stream entry (line 332) - Bell - should be removed.
    The 22nd Stream entry (line 549) *Brakes"
    An additional close bracket is required immediately before the next Stream entry (line 570) "Dynamic Brakes"

    I recommend using sms_Checker to check the validity of .sms files and using ConText to match brackets and list files with line numbers (I believe that NotePad++ will also match brackets, but I've not used it).

    Cheers,
    Ged
    Last edited by slipperman; 11-07-2022 at 10:20 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Attalla,AL
    Posts
    382

    Default

    Well, It's working again! Turns out it was Accidental over-flowed added stuff in, & needed the flow lines( Brackets?) to be cleaned up. The Double Dyn.Brake Lines as You said was Actually Transferred from TS GE Seligman Engines & hasn't affected it( Tested it, Running ORTS ONLY ). Guess, The Helping Fix Your .SMS Checker V5.1 Did( Though, That One Person doesn't do MSTS Anymore ) had some errors that I didn't know about( some I fixed, & it DIDN't Harm IT before ). Thanks.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,616

    Default

    Hi,
    You are correct!
    Many of the errors reported by sms_Checker do not stop MSTS or Open Rails from working, but OR reports them in its log. The important point is that unless each Stream is correctly configured, its sound may not be heard, or heard as its author intended.

    Cheers,
    Ged
    Last edited by slipperman; 11-08-2022 at 09:43 AM.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Eltham, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    7,285

    Default

    >I believe that NotePad++ will also match brackets, but I've not used it).

    It does but difficult to use, I am looking for another brace matching program.
    Cheers
    Derek

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •