Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: Albula Line and Bernina

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    869

    Default

    Understood Ged. Thanks for replying anyway. Maybe someone who has successfully installed this route will see this post and respond.
    Regards,

    Nick

    boffin0 on TikTok


    Dell Desktop. Intel i5 3.3 CPU. 8GB RAM. Nvidia GTX 1050Ti 4GB graphics. Windows Pro 64bit. RailDriver. Partridge in a pear tree...

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,614

    Default

    Hi Nick,
    I'm assuming that you're referring to the Albula Line route because the freeware Bernina route doesn't use a separate installme.bat file.

    I've just successfully installed and run the Albula Line 2 (mvalb2.zip) route. I followed this by the v2.1 upgrade (mvalb21.zip) - again, successfully run. Note that the v2.1 has a separate batch file to be run.

    NOTE : Do not attempt to run the batch files "as administrator" - if so done, they are likely to fail.

    Cheers,
    Ged

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    869

    Default

    Hi Ged,

    I have it as the Bernina line. I used the download links on this site: https://www.rhb-trainsim.com/BerninaBahn.html
    Regards,

    Nick

    boffin0 on TikTok


    Dell Desktop. Intel i5 3.3 CPU. 8GB RAM. Nvidia GTX 1050Ti 4GB graphics. Windows Pro 64bit. RailDriver. Partridge in a pear tree...

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Eltham, Victoria, Australia.
    Posts
    7,285

    Default

    Hi Nick,

    I have Bernina installed as a mini route?
    Cheers
    Derek

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    869

    Default

    Hi Derek,

    Yes it installs like that but then tries to run the batch file.
    Regards,

    Nick

    boffin0 on TikTok


    Dell Desktop. Intel i5 3.3 CPU. 8GB RAM. Nvidia GTX 1050Ti 4GB graphics. Windows Pro 64bit. RailDriver. Partridge in a pear tree...

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,614

    Default

    Hi Nick,
    My apologies It's a very long time since I installed the Bernina route - well, that's my excuse, anyway!!

    I've just re-installed it. By default, it installs a folder 'Train Simulator Bernina' into the same parent location as the default MSTS installation, as specified in the Registry. In my case, the default MSTS root folder is at T:\MSTS\Train Simulator, so this route installs into T:\MSTS\Train Simulator Bernina. I did NOT see any batch file run during the installation although it must have done so because it runs fine in MSTS. If you've tried to persuade it to install elsewhere, that might be your problem. I don't know what happens if you don't have an MSTS Registry entry because that is used by the batch file to locate the files to be copied into the route. The Readme.pdf file gives details, although the reference to the "Microsoft Games" may not apply to you (it doesn't to me!).

    Cheers,
    Ged

    EDIT : I've just re-installed the route to a completely different partition. This time, I did see the batch file run and some files weren't found. I'm pretty certain that they were for XTracks and New Roads, which my default MSTS installation doesn't have. After adding those, this second route ran OK in MSTS.
    Last edited by slipperman; 12-02-2022 at 07:16 PM.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    UK.
    Posts
    869

    Default

    Hi Ged,

    Thanks again. I think I'm going to give this route a miss. Life's too short etc lol
    Regards,

    Nick

    boffin0 on TikTok


    Dell Desktop. Intel i5 3.3 CPU. 8GB RAM. Nvidia GTX 1050Ti 4GB graphics. Windows Pro 64bit. RailDriver. Partridge in a pear tree...

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Worksop, UK
    Posts
    2,614

    Default

    Hi Nick,
    That's a pity - it's a very nice route
    There's really no problem installing it, provided you've got a proper MSTS installation, but it's your decision!

    Cheers,
    Ged

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    known universe
    Posts
    2,892

    Default

    Followup on my last post...Bernina and Albula installled. Both okay...since I know nothing about European electric, TCS emergency brake systems, and such....I had a fine old time getting the Allegra EMU's to move...finally had to reset OR to simple physics and adhesion, reset superelevation to 1000mm Guage, and other resets...but all is well now, exploring the Bernina...with my skills on this sort of route and equipment...it's much like a roller coaster ride!!!

    First impressions...how did this crew produce this route using MSTS RE....what an accomplishment, staggeringly well done work.
    Cheers, Gerry
    It's my railroad and I'll do what I want! Historically accurate attitude of US Railroad Barons.
    Forever, ridin' drag in railroad knowledge.


  10. #20
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    Jacksonville,, FL, USA.
    Posts
    4,078

    Default

    I've never had any problem except that somewhere back in the years, I saw where the Bernina line required
    being installed in it's own root directory which is what I did. It is a fantastic route. Much of the equipment was
    done by Lukas Lussar who used to post on here quite a bit. The fellow that did the route is a friend of his so
    it was somewhat of a collaboration. And yes, I'm not a very good driver on it either. Lukas' wife has a relative,
    cousin I believe, who is a driver on the line and I got to admire him.

    J. H. Sullivan
    (aka landnrairoader)
    retired from CSX & Southern Rwy.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •