Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Ace to TGA loses transparency

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 1999
    Location
    .
    Posts
    2,126

    Default

    Unless I misunderstand the problem....the easiest thing to do is open an .ace file in TGATool2, then click "file" and "save as" to save the image as a tga. That will maintain the alpha as part of the image for editing purposes. You don't use the export function of TGATool2 until you've reloaded the tga in TGATool2 and want to turn it back into an ace file.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    SW MO
    Posts
    835

    Default

    TSRE ShapeViewer will also show a texture preview and export with alphas but you can't load individual shapes.
    Just an FYI.

    Randy

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Drexel Hill, Pa., USA.
    Posts
    621

    Default Using TGAtool2

    What yellowdog said is what I'm doing now. I never would have figured it out without the TGAtool2 instructions, and even they didn't explicitly say that you have to export the edited image in order to save changes to the Ace but I figured it out.
    Steve Dunham
    Drexel Hill, PA
    www.stevedunham.50megs.com

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    belo horizonte, minas gerais, brasil
    Posts
    542

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Literalman View Post
    What yellowdog said is what I'm doing now. I never would have figured it out without the TGAtool2 instructions, and even they didn't explicitly say that you have to export the edited image in order to save changes to the Ace but I figured it out.
    What kind of work are you/were you doing since you found out?

    Did you solve the problem you were having??

    Show the forum your work .
    Chimbica Dash8

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Drexel Hill, Pa., USA.
    Posts
    621

    Default Oro tram with transparency

    Chimbica, at the time you posted, I was still struggling. The repaint of the main part of the tram had not come via TGAtool2, and I couldn't get the transparency back in the TGA I had been finished. Maybe I could have learned the process in Gimp, but instead I opened an ace with TGAtool2 and started over on the repaint. I was able to copy and paste the flag logo, so that saved some effort. This time the transparency was preserved. An image is attached. It's a repaint of Tim Blythman's Melbourne, Australia, B2 tram.

    What it's about: in November, one evening I was in a taxi in a traffic jam in Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao, the Philippines (my wife is from Mindanao). The roads were jammed with vehicles and people, there were hardly any traffic lights, and I was thinking that Cagayan de Oro could use an elevated light rail line. There's hardly any room to build at ground level, and not only is tunneling expensive, but Cagayan de Oro is right on the coast and downtown is barely above sea level. So even though an elevated line might not be popular elsewhere, it might work there. So I decided to try to make a train simulation of an elevated light railway. I thought Oro might be a good name for the system (my wife agrees). It means gold; Cagayan de Oro is the river of gold. So in the repaint I used colors from the flag of the Philippines and elements of it (the white, red, and blue). I needed a tram that could take tight corners and with explicit repaint permission, so I chose Tim's.

    I've also downloaded digital elevation and mapping data and applied it with Demex, and I've collected latitude and longitude for places that are likely spots for stations. I plan to design some standard stations and make models of the prominent, distinctive buildings in Sketchup. When I've finished the route, I plan to make a video showing the Oro light rail system as an idea. All this will take a while …
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Steve Dunham
    Drexel Hill, PA
    www.stevedunham.50megs.com

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    belo horizonte, minas gerais, brasil
    Posts
    542

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Literalman View Post
    Chimbica, at the time you posted, I was still struggling. The repaint of the main part of the tram had not come via TGAtool2, and I couldn't get the transparency back in the TGA I had been finished. Maybe I could have learned the process in Gimp, but instead I opened an ace with TGAtool2 and started over on the repaint. I was able to copy and paste the flag logo, so that saved some effort. This time the transparency was preserved. An image is attached. It's a repaint of Tim Blythman's Melbourne, Australia, B2 tram.

    What it's about: in November, one evening I was in a taxi in a traffic jam in Cagayan de Oro, Mindanao, the Philippines (my wife is from Mindanao). The roads were jammed with vehicles and people, there were hardly any traffic lights, and I was thinking that Cagayan de Oro could use an elevated light rail line. There's hardly any room to build at ground level, and not only is tunneling expensive, but Cagayan de Oro is right on the coast and downtown is barely above sea level. So even though an elevated line might not be popular elsewhere, it might work there. So I decided to try to make a train simulation of an elevated light railway. I thought Oro might be a good name for the system (my wife agrees). It means gold; Cagayan de Oro is the river of gold. So in the repaint I used colors from the flag of the Philippines and elements of it (the white, red, and blue). I needed a tram that could take tight corners and with explicit repaint permission, so I chose Tim's.

    I've also downloaded digital elevation and mapping data and applied it with Demex, and I've collected latitude and longitude for places that are likely spots for stations. I plan to design some standard stations and make models of the prominent, distinctive buildings in Sketchup. When I've finished the route, I plan to make a video showing the Oro light rail system as an idea. All this will take a while …


    So I understand that you have solved your problem.
    The car in the image, is it with the wheels hidden like that??
    Chimbica Dash8

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Location
    Drexel Hill, Pa., USA.
    Posts
    621

    Default Wheels covered??

    Yes. A photo of the actual tram provided by Tim Blythman shows that the car has a kind of shroud that covers almost all of the trucks. By the way, I'm subscribed to this thread. I don't know why I'm not getting notifications when someone adds a comment.
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Steve Dunham
    Drexel Hill, PA
    www.stevedunham.50megs.com

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •